One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

365/365: This Is The End

Well, it’s February 3rd, 2011. This is my last entry in this blog and it is now complete. A photo a day everyday for an entire year (I believe the final count is somewhere in the neighborhood of 730+ photos). Tomorrow is my birthday/week 🙂 .

Thank you for following along. You’ve essentially had a pretty personal glimpse into a year of my life, and I’ve fulfilled the purpose of this project: to be creative and to think and learn photography each day for a year. I’ve experimented with everything from landscape, nighttime, and product photography, to aerial, food and portrait, as well as a number of other types including the use of natural and flash lighting.

I discovered that as much as I like the photo aspect of this blog, I quickly began to like writing each one as well, granted sometimes I had a block and wrote nothing, but more often than not, I felt like I could have written pages and pages.

I’ll clue this project up with this: I hope you enjoyed what you found here, as much as I enjoyed putting it before you.

Best of luck in everything you do, and take care.

Be good to each other.

THE END. 🙂

 

A photograph is usually looked at – seldom looked into.  ~Ansel Adams

It’s weird that photographers spend years or even a whole lifetime, trying to capture moments that added together, don’t even amount to a couple of hours.  ~James Lalropui Keivom

12 responses

  1. Viewpoint2010

    Congrats on reaching the end. Hope the quit smoking campaign is going as well! 🙂

    February 4, 2011 at 4:08 am

    • Howard

      Thanks, doing really good.

      February 4, 2011 at 9:05 am

  2. It’s been a good ride! Thank’s for all the pictures, you truly are a great photographer. I’ve learned a lot just by looking at your photos. Example? “Ohhhh, that’s a neat angle, why didn’t I try that?” and “Hmmm, I wonder what shutter speed he used for that picture?”

    Always informative. Always imaginative.

    Looking forward to your future projects.

    -Mandy

    February 4, 2011 at 8:32 am

    • Howard

      Wow, thanks, Mandy. I appreciate you tagging along on this project for so long. Thanks again.

      February 4, 2011 at 9:09 am

  3. Cora

    Bittersweet congratulations to you!!! I have really enjoyed your project since we stumbled upon it some time ago. A while ago you eluded to not being able to finish the project due to work committments that would take you away and now, here we are months later and it’s finished. It was a huge undertaking and now I kind of wish it was a “…to be continued” all those months ago so it wouldn’t end today.

    You have certainly demostrated that there is a lot more to capturing a photo than my style of point and click. You have shared technical and valuable photography info with your followers.

    I am looking forward to your next project and want to say Thank you for sharing.

    All the best!

    February 4, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    • Howard

      Thanks, Cora. Such a nice comment. I’m so happy you enjoyed following along. And thank you for leaving comments from time to time throughout this project, I appreciate it.

      February 4, 2011 at 2:21 pm

  4. danielle martinez

    It is a SAD SAD DAY….. I have enjoyed your blog so much… It was like you were here or I was there. When I read your blog I could almost hear your voice… But there is another in the horizon (Right ?) Keep up the good work.

    Love Your Auntie In Snowy Texas ( HA HA )

    February 4, 2011 at 5:20 pm

    • Howard

      Awwww, thanks, Aunt Danielle. I am so happy you followed along. I saw on Facebook you guys have snow!! Um…… congratulations!??? 🙂 xoxo

      February 4, 2011 at 6:04 pm

  5. Ann Patrick

    Congratulations. I don’t remember at what point I came across your blog but I have enjoyed it very much. Your photography is great and your perspectives on life and people are life giving. I’m sure I will follow your other endeavors also. Had I known you were passing through Dallas I would have waved but I lost some time and am just now catching up.

    February 10, 2011 at 1:43 pm

    • Howard

      Thanks for you comments, Ann, and thanks for following along. Best of luck in everything you do.

      February 11, 2011 at 9:00 am

  6. Cora

    I was out for a run earlier while running down Palliser I could see the moon trying to peek out behind the clouds. Then later as I was going up HRRd I watching glancing at the sun setting and that got me thinking about your 365 project. I was wondering if you would have caught these moments and figured that I would send a quick note when I got home to let you know there is a least one person that is missing your photos. Just saying.

    February 17, 2011 at 6:43 pm

    • Howard

      Awww, Cora. Thanks for thinking of me. Very sweet of you. I did see the moon tonight, early on it was incredible. I didn’t take a photo though, but it was the first thing that popped into my head. I appreciate your following (and missing my blog)! Thanks again! 🙂

      February 17, 2011 at 9:30 pm

Leave a comment