One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

343/365: I Quit!!

You’re looking at one of the last cigarettes that I will smoke in the coming week or so. I’m quitting. It’s hard, and I’m grumpy, but I’m quitting.  I tried to go “cold turkey,” but after the first day, I decided I will go out gradually. I tried the patch and I tried drugs like Champix, etc. They worked… but I always went back. And then after I tried quitting again after using these methods, it was much harder to quit on my own. Regardless, I’ve decided to quit again, all by myself, and when I do it this time, it will be for good.

It’s something I’m pretty happy about, as I’ve been thinking about quitting for the last number of months to a year. … like, I thought about it every day. So, I’m finally going it for it, and that will be that. What makes it so hard, is I’m one of those people who liked to smoke, but the last year or so, I’ve noticed it affecting my health and honestly, as much as I have enjoyed it, it’s killing me. Realizing this (duh) has made this decision an easy one.

So, there. I’m quitting. For anyone else who is thinking about quitting, or has tried and failed – don’t worry about it. A health professional once told me that the average person quits about 12 times before they finally do it for good. Just don’t quit quitting. 🙂 Wish me luck.

7 responses

  1. Cora

    Good luck with the quitting, and most importantly, if you don’t succeed this time around, don’t quit quitting 🙂

    January 12, 2011 at 8:40 am

  2. Good luck! Its not an easy thing to quit, keep at it

    January 12, 2011 at 10:51 am

    • Howard

      Thanks, for the well wishing, baygirl.

      January 12, 2011 at 1:56 pm

  3. Cora

    Have you heard of the e-cigerettes? It has been a success for some people. I meant to meantion it in my previous correspondence. Good luck!

    January 12, 2011 at 1:47 pm

    • Howard

      Thanks, Cora, I haven’t heard of e-cigarettes. I’ll look into it as a back-up plan. 🙂

      January 12, 2011 at 1:55 pm

  4. Just a quick note to say congratulations on your decision to quit smoking. I quit in 1986 and it was the best decision I ever made. The love handles and belly got a bit bigger for awhile but then I felt so much better that I upped the exercise and the extra pounds disappeared as the miles went on my bike. You won’t believe how much you couldn’t taste and/or smell while you WERE smoking – big change coming. Feel free to drop a note if I can help in any way. For now, CONGRATULATIONS!!!

    January 15, 2011 at 11:57 pm

    • Howard

      Thanks, believe it or not, I’m already starting to notice a difference from time to time. Thanks again.

      January 16, 2011 at 12:44 am

Leave a Reply

