One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

338/365: High Contrast Winter Steps

I was driving around tonight, looking for a nice, night time winter photo, when I saw this set of steps next to a huge birch tree. There was this halogen light beaming down from above and the whole scene struck me as lonely and surreal somehow- this big, glowing tree drooping over some old, concrete steps covered in snow. It was real life, but in black and white. I pull over the vehicle, grab my gear and hop out. With a scene like this, I could definitely spend a little time snapping photos and exploring angles just to see what comes out of it. Click! Click!…. … I press the shutter button… and nothing. I take the camera away from my face and realize the battery is dead. Gr! Such a rookie mistake. Anyway, happens to everyone, and it will again I’m sure. … well, not when I’m being paid to take a photo, I’m pretty diligent when it comes to being ready for a shoot… like, to the point of obsession. Everything gets triple checked, and then checked again.

But that’s life, and here’s all I got from tonight’s hunt. And no tree.

4 responses

  1. I think I may recognize those steps.. are those the steps in front of the Husky House building on C-Side? just before Jack Cooper’s store? I’ve passed those steps soo many times in car and thought, “gee, that would be a sweet pic” but just kept driving past.

    January 7, 2011 at 2:10 pm

    • sednaphotography

      Nope, they’re in front of Minipi. … however, I’m not sure where the Husky House is….:S

      January 7, 2011 at 8:57 pm

  2. Husky House is in front of Minipi LOL!

    January 8, 2011 at 6:31 pm

    • sednaphotography

      Then, yes! LOL. You certainly know your stairs, Mandy!

      January 8, 2011 at 8:54 pm

Leave a Reply

