One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

332/365: New Year’s Eve

I’ve never been much for making New Years resolutions, and as a younger person I only made them because… that’s just what you did. It’s what everyone did. But I rarely kept these personal commitments to self improvement because they were always big ideas, and my determination was always half-hearted.  I think this is a common problem for many people, and why so many people fail to keep resolutions.

Amongst all the “help” you can find online , such as 7 Tips For Keeping Your Resolution, New Years Resolution Advice, even How To Make A Resolution (??), I actually found a New Years resolution generator (as sad as it sounds, it’s actually kind of neat).  So, I was game, and we do live in a digital age smothered by Apps and software for everything, so I tried it out and found a lot of resolutions that could be considered good ones. Just small, simple, good resolutions. So, if you think you might need some help in this category, you can check it out here.  As well, you might get a kick out of some of the suggestions.

Anyway, I’ve decided to make a resolution this year (no, I didn’t get it from the generator above) and I thought I’d share it with you. Simply, I am making the commitment to live a more creative life, and in turn I believe  a more authentic one. I will write more, paint and draw more, and continue to practice and learn photography. This will be more time consuming of course, and will definitely cut in on my couch potato time, but in the end I believe it will lead me to a year I can look back on and feel good about, and maybe even a whole new way of living my life. Regardless, I feel like I will be living more consciously and it will most likely make me a happier and more fulfilled person.

For the following photo, I broke out my art supplies that have been put away for the last year or more. Tomorrow is the start of a new year, and I thought I should get ready for it.

To my family and friends, and the followers of this blog, Happy New Year!! I wish you all the best in 2011.

Leave a Reply

