One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

325/365: Christmas Eve

Ah, Christmas Eve. I love this time of year. I used to hate this time of year. However, over the last 10 years or so, I’ve decided that whatever it was that fueled my distaste for the season wasn’t worth the miserable feelings that came with it. And hating something generally isn’t healthy. The only thing it does is make you bitter, and the people around you miserable. I mean, Christmas isn’t going anywhere any time soon, and I have a lot of years left, so I might as well enjoy it.

As a result, I do what I always do when faced with something I dislike but cannot change:  I pick and choose the best parts, the things that really matter to me and the things I feel are truly important, and then I create my own meaning for what those things represent and Voila!! I have my very own Christmas spirit, and it’s as good as anyone else. The ideas behind Christmas, both good and bad, have changed and evolved over the years, so why can’t I decide what I want to keep and what I want to throw away?

Anyway, Christmas is a great time of year to get together with friends and family and the people that mean the most to you. For some people, it’s the only time they get to do this, so enjoy it  and take it all in. That’s all I’ll say about Christmas.

On another note, I’ve come across an article highlighted in another blog referencing a Fox News story that some people might be interested in. I didn’t hear about it, because I don’t watch Fox “news” (for lack of a better term). It’s part tech geek stuff, and part spy mystery – but I thought it was a cool story. It’s about a computer worm called Stuxnet, that has, for now, crippled/slowed down Iran’s nuclear program. If you find it interesting, read to the end.

A Very Merry Christmas to one and all, family, friends and blog followers alike. If you’ve got time, go share a coffee and Bailey’s with someone special.

 

2 responses

  1. danielle martinez

    OK, now I know for sure we are related. Baileys and Coffee that is the only way to go. HAPPY HOLIDAYS FROM YOUR TEXAS RELATIVES…

    Love Aunt Danielle

    December 26, 2010 at 1:40 pm

    • sednaphotography

      Thank you, Aunt Danielle!! Happy Holidays!! It’s true that Baileys and Coffee is the only way to go, I’m actually thinking about having it each morning before work, and maybe again at about 9:30 am. 🙂 I have a feeling the day would move along so much better!

      December 26, 2010 at 10:18 pm

Leave a Reply

