One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

320/365: Holiday Reading

Someone at work turned me on to Wilbur Smith a couple weeks ago. They gave me the second book in a series they were reading, but suggested I first acquire book one. Fair enough, that’s just what I did. I can’t say much about the books yet, because I haven’t read much. All I know is they take place in the 18th century, and they are adventure books along the lines of Indiana Jones, etc., when forced to compare. That’s what I was told anyway. One thing I can tell you, from the few pages that I’ve read, is that the guy has a way with words and is an excellent writer. Again, this is just from the little I’ve read so far, but for me, if an author can write well and the story sucks, at least getting through the book doesn’t feel like a complete waste of time.

Anyway, I plan on tackling these two books starting tomorrow and over the holidays. The decorating is pretty much finished, and our photography business has closed it’s doors for a couple months to restructure how we do things, and this will give me some time to catch my breath and do some reading in a relaxed way, as opposed to getting to bed late, reading ten pages and passing out. I plan on spending some time on my back with a book in my face for the next little while. What else are the holidays for, right?

 

2 responses

  1. Hey
    I have read everything Wilber Smith has written. He is a fantastic author! The books you have chosen to start with are some of his best. I have a number of his books here if you want to borrow them.
    Enjoy any way!!

    December 22, 2010 at 3:22 pm

    • Howard.

      Excellent, Ian! Good to know. I’m about 100 pages into the first one, and I have to say it’s pretty great. Thanks.

      December 22, 2010 at 7:14 pm

Leave a Reply

