One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

319/365: Dreaming Of A White Christmas

On a couple different occasions this year, I predicted the “snow was here to stay.” Each time I was wrong. I believe it began back in October around Halloween, but each time it snowed this year, it just disappeared within a couple days. We’ve had an unusually warm fall and winter, breaking a couple records for temperature highs in December, and I believe at least once this December, we were warmer than Texas and Florida. Strange? Yes. However, I am going to go out on a limb again today, and claim once again – the snow is here to stay. We’re going to have a white Christmas!

At the same time, I am aware that warmer temperatures are predicted with a bit of rain (above freezing) mixed in. The white stuff may not stick around. Nothing can stop this weird weather/global warming thing, but I think if we all pull together and think positively about having snow on Christmas, I think we can make it happen! Ok, that’s ridiculous, but if anyone else has any other ideas, you’re welcome to leave them in the comments.

Anyway, this photo is of the snow fall we had today, taken from the second floor of our house. As I’m sitting here writing this, I’m looking out through my office window, and I can already see and hear the combination of rain and hail. Maybe I was a little premature on my prediction for a white Christmas.

On another note, my cousin Erica is getting married today. She’s from Texas. I just hope it’s a nice day down there, and everything turns out like she hoped it would. I’m sure it will and I’ve seen photos of her in her dress – she looks absolutely fabulous- so at least that’s taken care of. Best wishes to the family in Texas.

And best wishes to all of you who drop by this blog! Only a week ’til Christmas. Exciting, isn’t it!? Let’s hope it’s a white one.

 

2 responses

  1. Casey

    I miss you guys! Just sayin’ 🙂

    December 18, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    • Howard.

      Awwwwww. Thanks, Casey. We miss you guys too!! Come for a visit? 🙂

      December 19, 2010 at 2:10 pm

Leave a Reply

