One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

299/365: Early To Rise…

Here’s a few panoramas from this morning. It was a great day out today – sunny, and the air was crisp. The lakes and rivers are starting to get a sheet of ice on them now.

I was taking photos along a river this morning, and the sun came up and the ice started cracking. It scared the crap out of me as I thought it was a bear or moose crashing towards me. Next thing I knew, I was crashing through the trees myself, and running up the hill towards the road again only to realize what it was. Man, I had a good laugh at myself. And I’ll tell you another thing, when you think something at least twice your size is coming after you first thing in the morning, it’s waaay better than coffee for waking you up.

Cheers!

5 responses

  1. Adam

    Howie, This reminds me of certain camping trip. You needed a polar bear dog like Megan to be with you. Do you remember the creepy footsteps while camping in the qammaq in Qik. Get your broomstick and extra large fork ready to take down the bear, nope we’ll just volunteer the dog to patrol the fort. You know it is all clear when the dog feels safe enough to pee.

    November 28, 2010 at 10:07 pm

    • Howard

      LOL! When you’re by yourself, even an extra large fork wouldn’t have comforted me. 🙂

      November 29, 2010 at 1:12 pm

  2. HAHAHAHA.
    Now I feel bad, I can’t laugh at that, something similar happened to me. Well kinda. Now I feel the need to tell you, lol, I’ll be brief.

    I was out in my dads shed back in St. Lewis (south coast, really small 250 pop.) with my dog Kimo, the night before there was a Polar Bear outside our house, and I heard something scratching at the door of the shed. (I’m cutting out a lot of details).. anyway, my first thought, a polar bear.. freaked the f out, I opened the hatch in the floor of dads shed, dropped the dog through, jumped down myself and got out through in under the shed and ran out around. Turns out it was the hydro guy trying to read the meter on the side of dad’s shed.

    Still picturing you running up to the car though, lol!

    November 28, 2010 at 10:31 pm

    • Howard.

      Haha, that’s way worse than my experience! I bet the hydro guy thought he caught a burglar in the act. 🙂 Funny.

      November 29, 2010 at 1:15 pm

  3. Casey

    HAHAHA! 🙂

    November 29, 2010 at 6:18 am

Leave a Reply

