One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

290/365: Oops… Return To Winter

So we’ve come full circle in this blog. Winter, spring, summer, fall… and back to winter again. Good times.

I had the barbeque going three or four days ago, and I was thinking to myself how it was getting kinda late in the year to not yet have snow on the ground. Granted, we did have a little, but it would only last a day, if that. I think it’s now safe to say the white stuff is here to stay.

Things to do:

  • Cover bbq.
  • Find ice scrapers for truck
  • Get shovels out of shed
  • Shovel
  • Find boots, hats, scarves, gloves
  • Find “Long Johns” (long underwear)
  • Get cards and presents for nice people
  • Give evil eye to bad people
  • Find decorations
  • Get ready for jolly fat man’s visit
  • Stock up on soups and “comfort” food
  • Restock booze for “hot totties”
  • Think Positive – “winter is fun, winter is fun, winter is fun…”
  • Practice smile, and “Merry Christmas” greeting
  • Practice alternative “Happy Holidays” greeting

……… my God, this could be endless….

  • Smile at rude people who push past you to get the last Toblerone bar/turkey/funny card/thoughtful gift/bag of salt
  • Plan house parties and hot chocolate get togethers
  • Make plans for New Year’s Eve
  • Be thankful you won’t have to clean when people don’t show up for house parties and hot chocolate get togethers… or you forget to invite them

…………….

Well, I wish everyone a great weekend. And, no, the second photo isn’t of Dexter’s fur flying through the air after a good shake (something he does 20  times a day). Although it looks very similar, it’s actually snow.  

To those in the white regions of the world, slow down a little and drive safe. It’s a completely different road now.

4 responses

  1. Casey

    That second pic is wild!

    I am not envious of your snow.

    November 19, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    • Howard

      Thanks, Casey. I didn’t really think much of that second photo, but Amy said the same thing, so I guess it’s pretty cool. There was a time when I looked forward to the snow, but I just haven’t been feelin’ it the last couple years.

      By the way, I’m watching Catfish tonight!

      November 19, 2010 at 11:21 pm

  2. Great post!

    It got me into the “Winter spirit.”

    We woke up today, here in Stephenville Crossing, to find a nice batch of fresh snow. It’s actually quite refreshing since we’ve only ever had RAIN in here since moving.

    I literally lol’d when I got to “Give evil eye to bad people.”

    Btw, it would be nice for you to email me your postal. I feel that a Christmas card could be in the works.

    🙂

    November 20, 2010 at 11:46 am

    • Howard

      Thanks for the comments! It’s actually really pretty here today, sunny and bright, but it’s cold. We actually had to take a shoot we had today inside, the wind was wicked in some areas.

      I’ll email you my address, I think an xmas card exchange would be a nice idea!

      November 20, 2010 at 12:48 pm

Leave a Reply

