One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

289/365: Aiden’s Birthday Cake

I went over to Amy’s sister Natasha’s tonight to give Amy a ride home. I walk in and I see they’re making a cake for their cousin’s 4th birthday. Aiden is a fan of Toy Story, and Natasha had the idea of making a cake for him in that theme. I volunteered to help when I saw she was going to use fondant. I’ve never even heard of fondant before Cake Boss appeared on our television screens. I don’t know if that’s sad or not, but it’s true. 

Let me tell you, this stuff is incredible. It really is, and it sure beats your traditional icing. The stuff you can do with it is amazing. Just check out the details in the blanket.  We also covered rice krispie squares with it for the head board and pillows.  I also leanred rice krispie squares are just as fun to mold in your hands as they are to eat. Well…. it’s pretty close.

Anyway, tonight’s photos are of Aiden’s birthday cake. Did I mention it took hours to make this sucker? It’s 1:08 am as of right now, but it was good fun. Good night!

 

4 responses

  1. Casey

    wow!! That’s amazing! awesome job.

    November 19, 2010 at 5:51 am

    • Howard

      Thanks, Casey. I mostly did the small stuff. But I’ll never look at cake decorating the same again! Fondant = awesomeness.

      November 19, 2010 at 9:48 am

  2. Tash

    This cake is the BEST…you guys are the BEST!! I’d still be at it now without you guys! Amy is such a WICKED baker too:)

    November 19, 2010 at 9:17 am

    • Howard

      Haha. My favorite quote from the night, from Amy: “What? You guys’ve never played with Play Doe!?” Thanks Tash.

      November 19, 2010 at 9:47 am

Leave a Reply

