One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

287/365: Deception

I like just about all citrus fruits, however mandarins rank at the top for me. They’re a tad sweeter than an orange, and you don’t have to worry about the pith (the white fleshy stuff) getting stuck under your nails when you peel them. Mandarins all but burst out of their waxy prison. 

So I peel the fruit, break apart the segments, and pop one into my mouth. Ewww. It smelled ok, tasted bland, but the worst part was the texture – it felt like I put a dry tea bag in my mouth. Usually, eating a mandarin is a happy experience for me,  like what I would imagine eating sunshine would be like. Not this time. Oh, the disappointment (sigh).

Today’s photo is of  the deceitful little fruit – the mandarin.

2 responses

  1. Tangerines trump Mandarins any day 😛

    November 18, 2010 at 6:13 pm

    • Howard

      Tangerines…. hmmm. I’ll have to do a comparison sometime, but you might be right. 🙂

      November 19, 2010 at 12:53 am

Leave a Reply

