One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

286/365: Night Hunting

I ventured out tonight with the full intention of making a nice, night-scape photo of the moon and clouds. There was a lot of potential: layers of high clouds, layers of low clouds moving fast, lots of breaks and stars, etc. Unfortunately, the clouds really started to form and block the moon, and with using a long shutter speed and moving clouds, all I ended up with was a bright, blurry splotch. So I drove around a little, looking and waiting. Then I stumbled upon the following photo. Luckily, there was a huge tanker pulled up to the docks and it was flooding the area with light,  allowing my camera to (just) focus enough for this photo.

I get a lot of satisfaction from night photography. I love being able to capture a photo in the dark. My little sister is the one who really turned me on to it’s potential a couple years ago. We were running around St. John’s taking photos, and she told me I have to keep the camera stationary. We’d use anything to lay the camera on, i.e. a ledge, a railing, a car, anything. Sometimes making an image at night can be difficult, but it’s usually worth the little extra effort.

So, the point of this blog entry is to never give up, … I guess? When life gives you lemons….nah.  Ok, so, there is no point, really. But there is a photo.

Thanks for dropping by.

4 responses

  1. Casey

    Gorgeous!

    November 16, 2010 at 11:09 pm

    • Howard

      Thanks, Casey!

      November 17, 2010 at 8:55 am

  2. I agree with Casey, this is gorgeous. What a photo op! glad you stumbled up on it 🙂

    November 18, 2010 at 6:12 pm

    • Howard.

      Thanks for your comments, Mandy, I was lucky to get this one.

      November 19, 2010 at 12:53 am

Leave a Reply

