One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

285/365: Vinyl Cafe

Man, I really love Vinyl Cafe. Stuart Mclean is a great short story writer, and a genius story teller. Genius.

Any time I get to catch one of his concerts on CBC, I have to drop everything to listen to it.  I always find myself feeling better afterward. I guess a good laugh will do that to you, but it’s more than that. I can’t seem to find the words I want to use to describe what the “more than that” is, but his stories leave me feeling good about everyone and everything around me.

Wait. I might have it – I think what it is, is this: his stories are something I think nearly everyone can relate to, there’s something familiar about them, and (Amy says) they’re wholesome without being cheesy. They’re filled with life’s little lessons… and hilarious, which I think life is most times. I think his stories help me to keep things in perspective in a time when everything feels like it’s designed to confuse.

Anyway, I have his Vinyl Cafe Unplugged book, and Amy bought me another of his books a couple weeks ago, Extreme Vinyl Cafe. I’ve just read the first 3 stories, and Amy had to come check on me to see if I was ok, and not choking. They really are LOL, funny.

So if you like Vinyl Cafe and haven’t had a chance to listen to, or read the stories in a while, make the effort to do so, you won’t regret it. And that goes doubly so for anyone who isn’t aware of Stuart Mclean. Just Google Vinyl Cafe or Stuart Mclean and you’ll find it. There are pod casts out there to listen to as well. I love the books, but listening to him tell his stories, in my opinion, is just a little bit better.

2 responses

  1. Cora

    I am thrilled to see that locally I am not his only fan. I have had three of his books and read them repeatedly. And just recently my husband bought me “Notebooks”.
    I use to travel the coast continiously for many years and always took along one of his books. The stories are short enough to occupy your time between stops on the milk run up and down the coast. And it was entertaining for other passengers too because I would be reading to myself but laughing out loud!!
    I have listened to him so much (CBC Radio Tuesday nights and Sunday afternoons) that I read in his voice.
    Thanks for continuing the blog, I look forward to your pics.

    November 16, 2010 at 8:52 am

    • Howard

      Thanks for your comment, Cora. I think you hit the nail on the head – his stories are just the right length for a quick escape (or to occupy yourself when doing something like travelling the coast), and they are hilarious. I think I’m partial to his broadcasts on CBC because, when I read his stories, I’m also hearing his voice. Sometimes I even read a line a couple times and think about how he’d say what he’s written. His delivery is perfect.

      Thanks again for your comment, and for following this blog.

      November 16, 2010 at 9:19 am

Leave a Reply

