One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

282/365: Friday Silhouette

Happy Friday!! Here’s a couple quick photos I took after work. It’s getting dark soo early now. These were taken at about 4:30-4:40 pm. I might as well give in and admit winter is coming… fast.

I had a thought last night, as dangerous as that may be, and I realized that I grumble quite a bit about winter. There is, however, something I do like a lot about winter.  And since I’ll probably whine and complain until the end of this project about how cold it is, and how much snow there is, and how much I have to shovel, I thought I’d share the thing I like most about winter. It is……. the night sky in winter. That’s it. It’s beautiful.

I realized this last night, standing on my back deck and looking up at the stars. It was gorgeous – it seemed more clean and clear, and really dark. The best description would come from George V. Higgins, when he wrote, “It was darker than a carload of assholes.” And the stars seemed to be really bright, like mini-halogen bulbs.You know… really bright like those xenon bulbs? The kind on every truck that’s jacked five feet or more off the road? The trucks where the headlamps are at the exact height as your face, and seem to be eternally switched to hi-beam? The kind that leave you blind for about 2 seconds after they pass you on the road? Anyway, I’m getting off topic, although I could probably tie it together with another metaphor using “assholes” (just joking… but only a little.  Apparently I still have some work to do on my positive thinking). 

To continue on a serious note, a winter sky is something I am looking forward to. A clear night with snow on the ground is something majestic, especially in an area with little light pollution, and it’s something I can’t wait  to photograph this year. Maybe I’ll even get some Northern Lights (Aurora Borealis) in a few photos.

Take care everyone. Have a great weekend.

2 responses

  1. Casey

    Beautiful, brother!

    November 12, 2010 at 7:45 pm

    • Howard

      Thanks, sissa.

      November 13, 2010 at 1:34 pm

Leave a Reply

