One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

274/365: Pictures Of Pictures

So I decided to tackle the downstairs in the house tonight, try to get everything in it’s place. I didn’t make much of a dent, really, but I did come across an old photo album from somewhere around 8-10 years ago. It’s a bunch of photos in an album from when Amy and I lived in Qikiqtarjuaq, Nunavut, with her sister Yvonne and her family. I may have said it before, but it was definitely one of the best experiences of my life.

I decided to focus in on a photo of my neice Emily and I playing guitar. Mostly because when I saw this photo, I remembered everything about this moment: how I felt and what I was thinking, Emily coming in from the living room to hang for a bit, getting her to strum the strings on the guitar, her running back out to watch tv or to hang out with everyone else. It also brought back a bunch of memories I thought I forgot. That room, for example, and how our bed just fit in there. 🙂

And now, some years down the road, I’ll look through the book I’ll make from this 365 Project, and I’ll see this photo and remember again the things I thought I forgot. That’s the power of photography. Lovely, isn’t it?

Emily is a little lady now. When some time passes and I don’t get to see her, I sometimes think she’s still the little girl who I’d watch Blue’s Clues with and we’d paint and draw. I’d put on The Rolling Stones to listen to, and she’d promptly tell me, “I only like little kids music”.  When I see her now, I think, WOW, you’re as tall as your mom!!  (No offense, Yvonne!) 🙂

8 responses

  1. I am enjoying your 365 Project Blog very much and this post is very sweet. Thanks for the daily lift.

    November 5, 2010 at 9:11 am

    • Howard

      Thanks, Ann, I’m glad you liked the post. And if it gave you a lift, even better. 🙂

      November 5, 2010 at 11:04 am

  2. Casey

    Howie, you look 16! haha…so weird. It feels like SO long ago that you were living there.

    November 5, 2010 at 10:08 am

    • Howard

      I know!! I’m somewhere in the range of 23-25 here, and I look like a kid! haha.

      November 5, 2010 at 11:03 am

  3. Adam

    Good Times Howie, Good bit of fun with the Yamaha Venture Drag Races, “Say No To Crack”, Ian Ross is a terrorist, and my favourite of Howie racing past me on Yvonne’s polaris right up over the side of the snowbank, flying through the air, barely missing the rock pile and thinking he really broke her machine – when in actuality his knee had knocked the key into the off position. Planet Hollywood anyone?

    November 5, 2010 at 3:42 pm

    • Howard

      LOL!! My favorite is the “Ian Ross is a terrorist”. Hahaha. While equally as embarrassing as the rest, that one really stirred people up! … Kept my job though. 🙂

      November 5, 2010 at 10:43 pm

  4. Yvonne

    I can’t pass by this entry without a little note too…I love that we shared those times with you and Amy. Lots of special memories. I miss you both…and yes, Emily is as tall as me now…and your point is…?????

    November 5, 2010 at 8:24 pm

    • Howard

      Ooooh, nothing. Love you, xoxo!

      November 5, 2010 at 10:41 pm

Leave a Reply

