One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

261/365: Red Ring Of Death

I’ve played video games pretty much my whole life. In the last couple years,  I’ve notice a substantial decline in the hours I spend with a video game console. This isn’t for any particular reason, but a combination of reasons that have to do with life getting a little more hectic and complicated. Normal stuff everyone goes through. But I’ll never stop playing video games. I think they’re great.

About six months ago, my Xbox 360 developed the Red Ring Of Death, a term coined by some geek that tells you, essentially, that your machine is dead. There is a guy in town who can fix it though, and I contacted him about fixing mine. So I turn on my xbox so I can give him a better description of my problem and …. it worked!? The Red Ring was gone! I’ve never heard of this happening ever, but I’m glad it did. I do realize however, that it is only a matter of time before it happens again.

Microsoft’s Xbox 360 is, essentially, a piece of shit, quality wise. It seems to me I can’t recall a time when I was not playing some type of video game console throughout my life, with the exception of my very early years. I certainly don’t remember ever having a video game console fail on me. At least not before being stuffed in the attic or under the stairs because it wasn’t cool any more because something else came along to replace it. Correction: The Sega Genesis did fail on me one time, but I think I fixed it by baning a game hard into the console – problem solved. Anyway, while I’m happy my xbox is working again, I know it’s doomed. In fact, the problems and quality control with these machines are so bad, it’s not a matter of if you’re machine will break, but when your machine will break. And from a consumer standpoint, I’m disgusted by this fact.

Regardless, if ….. well, when I buy another console, I’ll be purchasing the Sony Playstation 3. I didn’t this time around (a few years ago) because there were so many delays in it’s release that I got frustrated and bought the xbox. I really should have waited and paid a little more for a high quality piece of equipment. Anyway, that’s my rant for the week. I can smell nachos being prepared downstairs as I write this, and I have some frozen magarita’s the fridge waiting for me. Gotta go.

Have a good weekend all.

2 responses

  1. Erica Martinez

    Ha! Will got the “Red Ring O’ Death” all the time. Blaimed it on my giving the console “the ojo” (basically bad vibes) Then he got the xbox elite and the problem went away. I guess it has a disgruntled fiance vibe blocker. You should look him up! Valero Hitman is his gamer tag.

    October 29, 2010 at 3:03 pm

    • Howard

      Erica, I think the vibe blocker is part of the new upgrades due to customer request. I’m not online right now because my xbox was broken, but when I have more time I’ll look Will up.

      November 1, 2010 at 6:11 pm

Leave a Reply

