One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

215/365: Blowing Off Steam

With everything that is going on and needs to be done, I decided to take a couple hours today to go out and shoot some photos for myself. I went out, shot a couple hundred photos, and now I feel much better. It’s a great way for me to relax, to not think about anything else, and generally blow off steam. It recharges my batteries and my brain. As a bonus, I usually get to add a few more photos to my personal collection. And to this blog, of course.

I decided to concentrate my efforts on the C-side, as I so often do because there are all kinds of things to photograph there. I mostly concentrated on doors today. I know, sounds weird, but sometimes limiting yourself to an idea helps to focus the eye. It also helps when you’re in a situation where you need five things but only have two – you learn to work with what you have. In other words, limiting yourself can be a very freeing exercise. Hmm…. that almost sounds….. wise.  Or stupid. Anyway, this blog isn’t about words of wisdom!

The following photo is one of my door photos from today. It’s here twice, one in colour and one in black & white.

2 responses

  1. I’m usually a sucker for a Greyscale photo, but the colorful one is just A-MAZING in this case! Love the depth, and it’s almost like you can feel the texture of the rust on the door latch. Lovely photo, Howard!

    September 6, 2010 at 6:16 pm

    • Howard

      Thanks!!

      September 7, 2010 at 9:09 pm

Leave a Reply

