One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

200/365: Birthday Painting

The following photo is of a painting I made for Amy some years ago, for her birthday. I remember painting this very clearly because I was thinking what a piece of crap I thought it was turning out to be, and how perhaps if I told her I did it in one sitting and it took me over ten hours to do, she could forgive me the amateurness of it’s appearance. Later I got to thinking that most paintings, and susposedly really good ones too, pretty much look like crap anyway. The key being to look at them from a distance, then they look great. Long story short, Amy loved it. And I love her for loving it. I still walk by it and often think, I should fix this, I should fix that blah, blah, blah, but it’s going to stay the way it is. It is exactly what it was like on that particular birthday, and that’s how it will stay. I think that’s kind of important. …. maddening at times…. but important.

Leave a Reply

