One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

189/365: Two Light Biker Shoot – Motorhead Ian

Ian is usually someone I can rely on when I want a subject for a photo. He also happens to have this really nice motorcycle that is an awesome colour blue. AND he has the patience to put up with me calling him up late in the evening, using dead batteries in my flash, battling lose connections – all the while he and his wife Linda are being eaten by mosquitoes. Check out the last time he helped me out way back in the beginning of this project.

So I started off using a second flash (I was going to resist this temptation until I had more experience with one flash, but I could not) but I didn’t have much time to experiment with it as the batteries in my main flash went dead. I bought cheap batteries last weekend, and they really suck. Word of warning: there’s a reason why Duracell and Energizer cost a lot more, they are easily 10 times better. I was able to grab one frame I liked using the two flashes. This was at the start of my experiment so I’m happy with it.

The photos tonight are in colour, but they make a beauty black and white as well.  I’m moderately pleased with these considering we spent more time waiting for the flash to recycle than we did shooting photos, and in the end, I only  shot about 17 frames. Another word of warning: remember the potential lens flare caused by a shoot through umbrella – I lost about 5 of the 17  photos because of it. Well, thanks Ian, I learned a lot tonight thanks to your help.

2 responses

  1. Casey

    I like these a lot… awesome clarity, and the sky really makes the photos for me!

    August 12, 2010 at 4:59 am

    • Howard

      Thanks sissa. That’s something I’ve been noticing when using a flash – the photos seem sharper. Not only that, but you have to do very little post processing. It pretty much is what it is. I was hoping to get a little more colour in the sky, but it was almost dark when we started. I had some running around to do and couldn’t get down there earlier.

      August 12, 2010 at 6:02 am

Leave a Reply

