One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

188/365: Slow Shutter Speed

I pull up to the docks tonight to practice a little night photography. There was a slight breeze and I knew the water would be a little loppy because of it. I was going to use a slow shutter speed to smooth it out a little and maybe with a little luck, I could photograph something interesting. When I get down there, there is this huge boat/vessel/tanker thingy off-loading stuff. I set up my camera and it starts to move. Well, me thinks, how luck am I? Here I plan on taking a photo of some boring, itsy-bitsy waves, and here’s this giant boat moving about as fast as a turtle, heading out to see. With lights everywhere, no less.

Anyway, here are the photos for today from my night time slow shutter speed adventure.

Of course, I also had to drop a black and white one in there. Something interesting about this one. If you look to the upper left of the photo, where the water meets the land across the way, you’ll notice a white line there. If you were able to look closer, you’d notice it was going like a heart monitor. When I took the photo, a speed boat off in the distance managed to find it’s way into my frame. A nice little accident.

Take care all.

2 responses

  1. Wowww.. LOVE these. This is right up there with my favorite Frog pictures lol. Amazing the detail you can catch with a slow shutter speed, the pictures turned out great, so sharp!! the bw one is very Ansel Adams 😉

    August 11, 2010 at 9:07 am

    • Howard

      Thanks, Mandy. Those are nice compliments.

      August 11, 2010 at 9:30 am

Leave a Reply

