One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

184/365: Strobist Gels

So I have a pack of gels (coloured filters like you’d see at a theater, like for a play or something). I didn’t have time to set anything up this evening, so I just have the gel package lit with the colour Sangria (Mmmmm, Sangria). Now that I have another flash working, I expect to use these gels a little in the future. Fun times. They aren’t just for creating fancy colours though, some are for colour correction when using flashes where tungsten or florescent lights are present.

Wishing everyone a great weekend!

4 responses

  1. Wow-wee, all kindsa new toys!

    You guys are going to get a lot of customers with the professionalism & devotion you have with your photography. I’m really happy to have known you and Amy through blogging, and pleased that we met and had a little photo excursion before I moved.

    I am actually moving earlier then expected now due to many technical difficulties.. packing up my life ONE WEEK earlier and leaving this monday the 9th. Just wanted to let you know that you ROCK! and I’ll be checking in again whenever I get an internet connection set up in Stephenville.

    Keep on bloggin’ in the free world!

    August 6, 2010 at 9:49 pm

    • Howard

      Mandy, thank you so much for your comment. It’s the nicest one yet, by far! I’m really happy I got to meet you before you left and I hope everything turns out just the way you want it. Best of luck! Looking forward to you getting back online in Stephenville. Take care.

      August 8, 2010 at 10:40 am

  2. Mmmmmmm – Sangria 🙂

    Howard,

    Thanks for sharing. I hope you find the gels in The Strobist Collection useful in your future photography. Please share this image, and any others you capture that utilize the colored light you’ll make, in our Flickr Pool:

    http://www.flickr.com/groups/roscostrobist/pool/

    Joel Svendsen
    Photo, Film & Video Market Manager
    Rosco Laboratories

    August 9, 2010 at 10:51 am

    • Howard

      Joel, thanks for the comment and the invite. I’m looking forward to experimenting. It was also a good reminder that I should update my neglected Flickr account.

      For those reading the comments: If you are interested in what these coloured gels can do for your flash photography, follow the link in Joel’s comment. Chances are very good that there will be plenty of people posting some amazing and impressive work and most of it will be of a higher caliber work than what I can do. I’d check it out right now, but I’m at work and the Flickr site is blocked on my computer. Grrr! Now I have to go and be productive.

      August 9, 2010 at 1:17 pm

Leave a Reply

