One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

179/365: Rainbows & Happy People

The nicest thing about shooting weddings is being surrounded by all the happy people. This weekend we had the opourtunity to meet a lot of really good people, have a few laughs, and shoot some beautiful and meaningful photographs. And not only that, but a lot of people told us how much they appreciated us being there to capture this wonderful event. It just makes you feel good, being in that kind of atmosphere.

Something else happened this weekend. I asked a local photographer for some help and she came through for us big time. She actually saved the day. I won’t go into detail, but it was a small gesture that meant a lot and saved us a boat load of stress. All of this just makes a guy feel really good. I’m on a total happiness high right now. Just good feelings all around. Positive energy and all that. Anyway, the photographers name is Mandy Poole. She’ll be leaving town soon to take on a bigger adventure – the pursuit of a career in Journalism. You can check out her blog here if you’d like.

As tired as I was after last night , I was up fairly early this morning. The lawn got mowed, some errands were run and we were in canoes on Goose River by about 2 o’clock this afternoon. The sun was out, big white clouds filled the sky,  there was a slight breeze, and we were surrounded by family and friends (and dogs) and it was just an all around beautiful day. It was perfect. Heaven. We stopped and made a fire on one of the sand bars, had lunch and layed around in the sand. We paddled our way back up the river, and while it was really hard going against the current (got a feeling I’m going to be very sore tomorrow), it ultimately left me feeling excellent.

So, as I said before, I feel like I’m on a happiness high. And then this evening, I walk out on the back deck and what do I see but a big freakin’ rainbow! That’s the photo for today. I thought I’d share the cheeriness with you. I mean, who doesn’t like a rainbow?

4 responses

  1. Sounds like a really productive day! thanks for the mention, lol! It was nothing, looking forward to helping out on that photo shoot before I move. The rainbow this afternoon really was nice, but I was out and about when it came out and I didn’t have my camera 😦

    August 1, 2010 at 9:53 pm

    • Howard

      The rainbow was nice, and huge too. I’ll let you know more about that shoot when I find out. Hopefully it’ll happen this week.

      August 2, 2010 at 7:07 am

  2. Casey

    Gorgeous pic…we had a pretty epic rainbow in St. John’s that same evening…it seemed like it arched over the entire city and all the sky was a fiery orange. Of course, I was working and could not take a picture. Sadness ensued.

    August 4, 2010 at 10:09 am

    • Howard

      Thanks, Casey. That rainbow you’re talking about sounds pretty crazy. Wish I could have seen that. Damn work.

      August 4, 2010 at 1:15 pm

Leave a Reply

