One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

168/365: Tomato Plant – In The Spotlight.

So I got home late and I figured I’d take a photo of one of our tomato plants of which we’re sort of proud of, considering we don’t know what we’re doing. We’re proud because this tomato plant has three or four small flowers coming off the top of it. I believe this is where the tomatoes come from. And if this is the case, I’m really happy that Amy ignored me when I said we should cut the flowers off! I know I heard this somewhere before, cut the flowers off to save the plant’s energy for it’s own growth, but for the life of me I can’t remember where. I grab certain tidbits of information and hold on to it sometimes. It just hides out somewhere in the back of my brain, and then pops out! It leaves me wondering why would I remember this seemingly useless piece of info, but can’t remember where I put my hat, the birthdays of family members and friends, or my own postal code!? 

Anyway, this plant is getting fairly large now, so I think we’re doing the right thing by keeping the flowers on. Actually, I dont’ care that much. It’s growing flowers = it’s doing good = we’re not killing it. Seriously, I sometimes feel like we’re serial plant murderers. If word got out about us, the local greenhouse would stop selling us stuff. So, if it happens to pop out a couple sad little tomatoes, then we’re throwing a party! Hey, we got excited when we grew basil!!

2 responses

  1. danielle Martinez

    DO NOT CUT OFF THE FLOWERS…. Those are blooms which will turn into tomatoes… So you see I did not know if you were joking so I figured I would give you my comment just in case you were not joking..

    Love Always Aunt Danielle

    July 23, 2010 at 2:47 pm

    • Howard

      LOL… no, I wasn’t joking, haha. Thanks Aunt Danielle!!

      July 23, 2010 at 5:52 pm

Leave a Reply

