One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

166/365: Fluid In Motion

Thought I’d quickly try my hand at something new today. In the first, I used good ol’ fashioned food colouring, but it spread out too fast for my liking. The second and third looks a little like fire or a fireball, but is actually Soya Sauce (reduced sodium!). In my mind, I was thinking something silky and sexy looking like you see other people do, all fine curves and elegance. The pattern I got with everything I tried was just a mess spreading uncontrollably everywhere.

I am kind of impressed with the Soya Sauce’s performance though. It actually gives an interesting shape and colour. The last photo looks so red. Looking at it here in the blog, I had to go back to lightroom and see what I did to it because it looks so colourful. … I just added some black to it, no saturation at all. I like these kinds of surprises.

Take care all!

4 responses

  1. You’re right, it does look like fire! Pretty neat. So let me get this straight, to do shots like this you need a white background, and the off camera flash has to fire at the background to make the picture work? This looks really interesting! because we’ve just painted our apartment white and I was going to try to rig something up and attempt this.

    July 20, 2010 at 7:57 am

    • Howard

      Thanks. What I actually did was this: I used a clear, square plastic container, I put a piece of white fabric hanging behind it, and I put the flash behind the fabric so the flash lit everything from behind. I did this because I didn’t want the flash to effect the plastic container (glare or whatever). I then put… I think it was a butter knife, down into the center of the container so the lens would focus into the water on the knife (where the colour would be), instead of on the surface of the container. It turned out ok, but I didn’t have time (like usual) to try a lot of things. Food colouring just spread out, I was looking for something that would sink a little quicker, and spread out slowly. After a little while, I was thinking molasses, but I didn’t have any, :), so I tried soya sauce. Pretty much the same result as the food colouring, but with a little more dimension. Then I had to make supper and stopped the experiment.
      There’s probably a hundred different ways to do this. Maybe with the flash from up top pointing down? I don’t know, I just worked quickly ’cause I had things to do.

      July 20, 2010 at 8:55 am

  2. Emailing you your #2 picture (sort of) because something caught my eye!

    July 20, 2010 at 3:29 pm

    • Howard

      Haha, Mandy. Good eye!

      July 20, 2010 at 7:14 pm

Leave a Reply

