One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

162/365: Painting With Light – Product Shoot

So this blog is all about me expanding my horizons in terms of photography. This evening, I thought I’d try my hand at shooting a “product” and at the same time painting with light.

The first photo is where I started. This is to show that you can actually get pretty good results from just about nothing, and with very minimum editing. Not to imply this is in anyway professional grade, it’s not, but it’s pretty cool for someone who doesn’t know what they are doing most of the time. Anyway, it’s the end of my hallway, on an old table thingy (scratched with minor dog hair) against a wall that is dented and yucky in color. Heck, the gin isn’t even gin, it’s water. You will notice that there is a flash present, standing on the light stand I just got a couple days ago (so convenient compared to what I was using before, which was just about anything I could find). I would like to have the light shooting straight down, but I couldn’t rig anything up in time. I took these photos in about 25 minutes, and edited them in about 20 minutes. It’s nacho night, and Amy doesn’t want to be waiting around on me.

The second photo is the result with all the lights off. Although, it wasn’t really all that dark in the hallway. Light was coming from the living room and I shot this photo with a 2 second shutter speed. I needed the shutter speed this slow (would have liked it slower, but like I said, I was pressed for time) in order to paint with light. Painting with light is simply, using a slow shutter speed (like at night) then introducing a light source while the shutter is open. This could be a flash light, LED’s, glow sticks, … anything that glows or has light. Some very cool stuff online if you bother to look around.

The next three photos are when I introduce a blue glow stick I got for a $1.5o. I did different stuff and just shot a lot of photos. I didn’t use Photoshop in anyway. Just a flash, a bottle of water and a glow stick. The only editing in these were cropping the front end off the table, spot removed a couple dents in the wall which really stood out because of the flash, darkened the table top to hide dog hair and scratches, and I put a vignette around the photo to make it black all around the photo (in the second photo, you can see how the blue runs off the photo – it’s kinda nice too) and a touch of saturation to make it pop (ever see an ad that doesn’t defy how something really looks?). I do as much when I edit a family photo shoot. More sometimes. Anyway, in the fourth photo, I did change the white balance, just out of curiosity, and I think the orange -y color looks kinda cool.

So that’s it for today. Nacho time.

Just to let you know, Amy likes the 3rd photo the most, I sorta like the 4th the most… maybe? I would like to know which you like best. Let me know in the comments. Have a good night all!!

 

2 responses

  1. I really like 3 and 4. It looks like smoke! very cool.

    July 15, 2010 at 8:42 pm

    • Howard

      Thanks Mandy. Did you find a place yet? Yeah, I really had no intention of it looking like smoke, but when I saw it, I thought it was a bonus.

      July 15, 2010 at 10:06 pm

Leave a Reply

