One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

143/365: $25 Million!!

Someone in our little town won $25 million last night! CONGRATULATIONS!! Good on ya! Really, really happy for you and the fam.

I heard a rumor about someone who had won, and I did this big ol’ blog post thinking that the rumored person would never read this. Then I heard another name, and I know the person, and they have probably read this blog before (definitely the SEDNA Photography blog) so then I had to change it. It wasn’t bad or anything. I wasn’t going on a rant about not winning or anything like that. It did contain wish lists and I’d sell my soul for this, lists, haha. Anyway, not appropriate…. but funny.  And I’m much, much happier about the actual winner than the rumored one.

Moving on, the following photos are of the grid spots I made the last couple nights. Cost me about $6 to make them compared to the $30 for one if I had to buy them. That’s serious savings right there, I tell ya!

To demonstrate how much the grid spots narrow the light coming from the flash, I chose a small section of wall in our kitchen. It’s a little smaller than the width of a door. The first photo is from the first grid spot I made (probably equivalent to a 20 degree grid spot). The second is from… well,… the second. The second one is a little longer and yet narrows the flash that much more (probably equivalent to a 10 degree grid spot). Use your imagination and you’ll start seeing the applications for these. The third photo: there is no way to take a photo of a flash like this without a grid spot or a snoot (a snoot is just a tunnel shaped thing coming off your flash, but without the straws or whatever you use inside of it, and is generally a little longer), other wise the flash will fire into your lens and either totally blow out the photo, or cause some very serious flaring. I’m practically in front of the flash. So that’s another use for it and it’s just cool.

Anyway, I’ll wrap a layer of maybe gaffer’s tape or hockey tape around it to clean it up a little and to make it not so shiny and I’m good to go. I really wouldn’t feel self conscious using these on a shoot.

I didn’t use straws to make the grid spots this time. For one, I couldn’t find any black straws in town, and two, once you glue the straws and the glue gets brittle, you throw that thing in your camera bag and before you know it, it’s crushed and no good anymore. This time, I found some black papermate pens at the bargain store at $1.77 for ten, chopped them into pieces and duck taped them together into rows. I glued the rows together, then ducks taped them all again. I have so much duck tape on the card board (from a granola bar box) that it feels like rubber, and I’m pretty sure water proof – therefore, “weather resistant” and therefore, PRO. 😀

Take care.

4 responses

  1. Nice job on the grid, looks like it’s good and sturdy. I don’t even own an external flash (eep!!) but It’s going to be my next camera related purchase I think. Any advice on a good quality, yet budget friendly one?

    June 27, 2010 at 3:57 pm

    • Howard

      Of course! I first bought a Canon 430 EX II and it cost a fortune!! Bought it new and a couple pocket wizards plus II – went all out, but that was before I started researching. I don’t regret it, but I could have saved a few hundred dollars. One of the best flashes for the money right now ( from what I’ve been reading) is an old Vivitar 285 HV. It was made back in the mid-seventies, but they still work great. A “work horse” is what I’ve been reading. But I believe Vivitar started making them new again, and you can get them new for less than a hundred bucks. I have a Vivitar 283 (the model before, pretty much the same) coming that I got off of ebay for $35, shipping included. One warning: some old Vivitar 285 HV will fry your camera if you use it on your camera. Those ones were/are made in Japan. It’s a voltage issue. Anything else should be fine. Just look into it.

      A cheap option to get your flash off your camera, is the Wein Peanut Slave. Another flash, or the flash from the top of your camera will set whatever flash you have this connected to this off. I believe it just plugs straight into the 285. They are about $15. There are literal hundreds of cheap options out there. Of course, the more you pay, the better something is (I’m talking pocket wizards in this case) but to start off in something new, go cheap.

      June 27, 2010 at 6:21 pm

  2. Ahhh crappy 😦 I already have a Vivitar Auto Thyristor 2800 flash for an older Nikon film camera I own and I never even thought that maybe it might work on my Rebel.. I looked it up and it puts out a lot of voltage!
    I got alll kinds of excited and then got bummed out lol. I think I’m going to go with this one though, been doing some looking around, and I kind of wanted to get one more tailored towards my Canon anyway

    http://www.thecamerastore.com/products/camera-flash/-camera-flash-heads/canon-speedlite-270ex

    June 30, 2010 at 9:34 am

    • sednaphotography

      Yeah, I think 6 V is the limit, and I think those old flashes put out … like 300 V or something ridiculously over the limit. But keep it, because if you want a second flash for off your camera, then buy one of those wein peanut optical slaves to attach to the vivitar, and your on camera flash will set it off. Could be very useful.

      June 30, 2010 at 5:29 pm

Leave a Reply

