One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

142/365: Dexter Day At The Beach.

The rain clouds cleared away early enough that I could take Dexter to the beach for a swim. He’s getting really good at swimming, however he’s developed a habit of climbing out of the water and running to within two feet of me before he shakes himself off. I’ve taught him to bring the stick back, but I think my effort would be in vain if I tried to teach him bring the stick back and not spray me with water. You got to give a little to get a little.

Anyway, that’s about it. Oh, the grid spot I made last night turned out nicely, I’m going to make another tonight or sometime over the weekend. Photos to follow. Have a great weekend everyone!

3 responses

  1. Nice photos as per usual, I particularly like the 3rd and 4th. Do you ever use sport mode when you’re trying to get shots like number 3? or do you just speed up the shutter?

    BTW you totally made me miss my dog, not that I wasn’t already thinking about him today but it brought back particular memories of taking him to the beach. He was always such a wimp around water.. refer to this shot for clarification 😛

    June 25, 2010 at 9:20 pm

  2. that was the wrong link last time, stupid facebook.

    June 25, 2010 at 9:21 pm

    • Howard

      Ah, that photo is wicked cute! Looks a little scared. I haven’t really messed around with any other settings except manual in a while now. I shot #3 at 1/4000th, which is as fast as my shutter can go unfortunately. So, I just sped up the shutter for the photo, but I had my nifty-fifty on, and I had to close down my aperture so it wouldn’t be over exposed, that little lens sucks in so much light. All except #4 were shot at 1/4000th because of the 50 mm, but #4 was shot about about 1/250th ’cause I was in the shade (and being eaten by flies).

      June 26, 2010 at 12:43 am

Leave a Reply

