One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

137/365: Happy Father’s Day

Happy Father’s Day to all the Dads out there. This goes doubly so for the man who raised me.

Throughout my life, Paul has encouraged a number of interests in my life as any dad should. He didn’t do it with a lot of words of encouragement, although there were those as well, but mostly he encouraged me by doing things himself. On the most basic level, we watched and talked about sports, we’d gather other family members out in the backyard where games of catch, “kick-the-ball”, and sometimes a light game of football would occur. Athletics were encouraged, and this was always accompanied by lighthearted teasing and joking and always laughter. I believe my first lessons in trash talking were picked up around this time. There was more to my up bringing than this though.

Paul and I never really talked a lot about drawing or painting or writing or any art form as such, but every now and again, Paul would disappear for a while and before you knew it there was a drawing/painting that he would produce. Little did he know it, but I was always intrigued by this, and would run off by myself to maybe try and replicate his methods or do something on my own. Or sometimes he would produce a poem out of nowhere. And I loved this about him. Because it showed another side to the man who was a jack of all trades sort of guy. I seem to feel like there was always a renovation at our house while I was growing up that  I would sometimes be invited to help with (there’s a big one coming to it’s end right now in fact). He’s a man who I felt could do almost anything, and one of the most well-rounded men that I know.

On top of all this, Paul’s interest in photography was also something that encouraged me. He takes great pictures. Granted, I’m not going to run off into the woods chasing a moose for a photo, only to come face to face with it a moment later, but I admire his passion! 🙂

So Happy Father’s Day to you, Paul. You mean the world to me, and I love you very much.

2 responses

  1. Paul

    Hi Howie,
    Thank you so much for the kind words. Lots of great memories from that house and backyard eh.. I will cherish them forever!!
    Rasing you was a pleasure, you made being a father figure very easy!!! All the best with your new job I am sure you will be a great success.
    Love
    Paul

    June 21, 2010 at 11:26 am

    • Howard

      Thanks, Paul. We’ve got more memories to make yet, though!! 🙂

      June 21, 2010 at 10:13 pm

Leave a Reply

