One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

136/365: Night Moves

I am doing this blog entry at 1:34 am. Technically, it’s the next day so I’m still meeting my daily requirement. Wanting to get out and do some night photography, and seeing how it doesn’t get dark until about 10:30 pm here now, I went for a drive around midnight and took the following photos between 12:30 – 1:15 am this morning.  They’re not perfect, and a little out of focus because I had to manually focus the camera on….. well, nothing really. It’s hard to focus on something that is nearly black, so I just closed down my aperture and crossed my fingers. It’s kind of cool though, how much light and colour you can get from leaving your shutter open for 30 seconds. Anyway, here are the photos for today, Saturday, June 19. The last one here is of a tree in silhouette. The tree is on the edge of the water, almost hanging out over it.  Look closely and you’ll see a star reflected in the water. It was taken down at the sand bars here in town.

5 responses

  1. Mandy J Poole

    Nice photos! I like the St. Anthony area but I’m fairly certain I wouldn’t be able to live there for any length of time lol. I like these night shots as well, the glow behind the hills looks really great.

    I met Amy today! she and her.. sister? dropped by the yard sale that Aaron and I were having. I knew her as soon as she stepped out of the SUV lol. Nice to finally meet one half of the photo wizards I call my net friends lol.

    Hope you’re having a great weekend. – Mandy

    June 19, 2010 at 8:00 pm

    • Howard

      Thanks, Mandy, and I agree with you on St. Anthony, I wouldn’t be able to live there either. There isn’t a whole lot going on there, that’s for sure.

      June 20, 2010 at 8:47 pm

  2. Casey

    Love these!

    June 21, 2010 at 10:44 am

  3. i

    Did you use a tripod??? 😉

    June 22, 2010 at 10:14 pm

    • Howard

      Of course!! 30 second shutter speed! I’ll drop it back to you this week, haha. I think I might have started to think it was mine!! 🙂

      June 22, 2010 at 10:23 pm

Leave a Reply

