One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

133/365: Where Are The Vikings!?

I took photos of the inside of the hospital lobby here in St. Anthony. It was a rotten weather day again here today. Lots of wind, lots of rain. It’s a good thing I did decided to take photos inside too. Here’s why.

My plan for today was to take a drive out to L’Anse aux Meadows to look at the Viking settlements they discovered there in the ’60’s. Some estimates put the settlement at about 1000 years old. Apparently, Leif Ericson set up camp here in 1003. You can check out L’Anse aux Meadows here and here.

Anyway, after obtaining a map from the lady at the front desk of my hotel, and asking for directions, I was on my way. The wrong way. The lady gave me directions that were clear, but I came upon a turn-off that fit what she said perfectly, minus the “There’s a big sign, you can’t miss it.” So I turn off and take a tour of town after town around the northern peninsula of Newfoundland. After about an hour or more of driving I found my way back to the highway and found where I was actually suppose to turn off. Gigantic sign and all.

I was really excited about this because I always see photos of L’Anse aux Meadows that are sunny and nice and everything you’d want a national park to be. What I was interested in getting was some photos of those sod houses encased in a blanket of fog and rain. Before I even got there, I had decided I was going to make some great black and white photos. Unfortunately, I got there about 20 minutes too late. The park was closed. I even drove around looking for a place I could sneak in. I was going to brave the awful weather and deal with the frustration of taking photos in the rain for this, but it was too far off the road. And really, I only had a rough estimate of where the settlement was, and I think I’ve already shown how dependable my navigation skills are. Figured I shouldn’t push my luck. Or break the law by trespassing. Sometimes I just get excited, ok? Anyway, there was no point in stepping outside to take photos of anything else, because it was just too miserable. But I did go through a lot of really scenic towns. Truly beautiful area.

So that’s it, today’s photos are of the hospital lobby. Now, while these photos will not do it justice (plus the light in here was really low, I shot most of the photos at 1/5th of a second, the camera resting on the backs of various chairs for the most part), this room isn’t your average hospital lobby. The lobby is lined with The Jordi Bonet Murals, a collection of ceramic tiles that depict Newfoundland and Labrador history and culture. Really cool, and I spent about half my time out there doing work and taking breaks to look around. Wish my office looked like this. You can check Jordi Bonet here if you want. Here are the photos.


The above look like happy, laughing flowers. Below are snow shoes.

One response

  1. Casey

    Gorgeous!

    June 21, 2010 at 10:47 am

Leave a Reply

