One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

121/365: Signs Of Life

The Labrador Cup is going on this week, and really heating up this weekend. For those of you who don’t know, it’s a Soccer tournament. I have two brother-in-laws playing in the tournament, and on opposite teams. The only problem with that for me is constantly having to clap and cheer as I’ll be rooting for both teams. So I decided to get to my photo for the day early, and being inspired by the gorgeous weather we’re having the last couple days, I decided to just step out back, and take a few photos of the new leaves on the tree.

They’ve been sprouting out the last week and a half or so. To my family in Texas (one Aunt in particular who has been constantly picking plums from her tree to make jelly), this is a big deal for me. I looked out back yesterday and saw weeds sprouting their little yellow flowers and got excited. While you all are harvesting, we’ve only begun transplanting to the outdoors. And by “we” I mean everyone else. But we are growing herbs and we’re going to try our luck with tomatoes and some peppers. Baby steps.

So as I’ve said, the following photos are of new leaves. I felt sort of …… meh! about these photos at first, felt I was short changing myself, but when I looked at them on my computer, I realized I had some nice bokeh (the blur in the background) going on. It has a nice aesthetic quality to it.

Bokeh = Happiness. 🙂

2 responses

  1. danielle martinez

    Howie… There nothing better then to see the new growth of spring . Good luck with our baby steps. T
    here is nothing like being able to get a fresh sprig of herbs and put them right into what you are cooking.

    Love your Plummie Aunt

    June 4, 2010 at 8:30 pm

    • Howard

      Haha, thank you!!

      June 5, 2010 at 11:46 am

Leave a Reply

