One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

117/365: Baking Croissants

I watched a movie this weekend where this lady made chocolate croissants. They looked really good, and being susceptible to suggestion, I got it in my head that I wanted to bake croissants this week. I said something like, “That’s all you have to do? It’s like making bread!”, something I’ve done maybe twice, and both of those times probably occurred before the age of eleven. I actually made bread sticks a few times, but that was with a bread machine doing the mixing, and that machine is long gone.

Amy said, “It’s not like making bread, it’s a pastry.” When I asked what the difference was, she said something along the lines of one’s a bread, the others a pastry! Anyway, I just saw a lady making dough, and looked online and found a list of ingredients (looks like bread to me!), and now this lady in the movie has croissants. How hard could it be?

So I went out today and bought ingredients and I’m going to tackle the task of making croissants. The guy in the Youtube video said not to expect anything great on your first try. This of course only egged me on – my determination turning to steel.

Well, to make a long story short, it isn’t like making bread. The dough is, sort of, but then you have to fold it over a rectangle of butter (which you have to flatten between two sheets of saran wrap), roll that out, fold it up, wrap it up in saran wrap and  put it in the fridge for 25 – 30 minutes. Then take it out and roll it, fold it, wrap it, and then put it back in the fridge for another 30 minutes … then take it out once more and roll, fold, wrap and then refrigerate again… OVERNIGHT!!  What the hell!? So you have to work your butt off, and you can’t even eat them until the day after!? I’ve been duped through the magic of Hollywood! Again!

I’m going to make them this evening anyway. I already bought the ingredients and Amy is out of town for the week so what else am I going to do? But when I see the process of making things like this, I have ask the question: who came up with this stuff!? Who figured it out? I mean, refrigerate twice, and then again over night!? Was someone interrupted in the middle of the process of making a super buttery bread, and figured, I’ll just do it later, plopping the dough in the fridge? Upon returning to continue the bread making, the interruption happened again. And then again. The person says, screw it, I’ll just do it tomorrow. They bake the bread and it turns out fantastic! It’s so good, in fact,  it requires it’s own name (croissant!), and it’s not a bread but a pastry! Well, I don’t know how it happened, but they are delicious.

Anyway, the photo below is of me, myself and I, and him, about to begin the process of making the ultimate croissant. Penny is softening the butter for me, and Dexter is angry that I won’t let him carry the eggs. Should be good times.  Thanks for dropping by!

5 responses

  1. Natasha

    That is WICKED…I love it! Your getting so good at this whole “photography” stuff!

    June 3, 2010 at 1:15 pm

    • Howard

      Thanks Natasha, I’m gaining a little in the skills category. As for Penny, that was the first photo I took, and I thought it was perfect! haha. Set the whole theme for the photo. I think Amy would say, “Mmm, these are good croissants, good job!” 🙂

      June 3, 2010 at 2:05 pm

  2. Natasha

    Wait…I just noticed that Penny was on the table…in the butter…what would Amy say? teehee

    June 3, 2010 at 1:19 pm

  3. Mandy J Poole

    This is very cool. I haven’t tried layering like this before now I just gotta do it. Btw this is my fouth comment this morning so I’m going to give it a rest now! lol seems like I missed alot and only gone 11 days!

    June 11, 2010 at 7:35 am

    • Howard

      Thanks for all your comments, Mandy!! Really appreciate them.

      June 12, 2010 at 7:58 pm

Leave a Reply

