One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

114/365: Rocking Chair

Amy and I picked up this rocking chair last year at a flea market/fund raiser. Amy, her sisters and her mom were out shopping together and Amy called me, wanting me to drop down to the flea market and have a look at this old rocking chair. When I saw it, I knew we had to get it.

When I was growing up, we had an old rocking chair like this in our home. Exactly like this. My step-dad had refinished the chair, staining it a dark chocolate brown and changing the cushion. On the back rest, he had put a webbing instead of another cushion. I thought the chair was pretty great, and I loved the way the wood was bent and shaped.

On top of being an exact replica of a chair we had in our home growing up, and the nostalgia that comes with that,  it would also serve as a nice rocking chair for when we have our first Haby-baby! We went to a local hardware store and bought some varnish/paint remover and planned on getting to work stripping off the old finish. On top of that, we’d pick out a nice colour and redo the cushions or just replace them. That didn’t happen last summer, but it’s a project we’ll get started on this year. I guess this blog entry is to remind family and friends that we are going to have kids sometime, and the following photos are proof that it’s in our minds.

For those who don’t know my wife and I personally, it’s a topic of interest of those who do. For example, we have been carrying around 2-3 large Tupperware type containers filled with baby clothes from Amy’s sister for the last 6-7 years or so (not complaining here, it’s greatly appreciated… when the time comes), and upon returning from our wedding last year, somebody had plastered those yellow caution signs stating Baby On Board on three or four of our vehicle windows. As well, on my side of the family, it’s a constant question from my sisters, often spoken before “Hello brother” and “How is everything”. Even my younger sister is getting in on the act, not that I mind because she got married last year and she’ll get hers soon enough. So be patient everyone, the chair is proof of our intentions.

So the above is the inspiration behind the following photos. That and I thought some high contrast, black and white photos combined with the curves of the wood and some nice window light would make a couple  nice photos. Have a good weekend everyone!!

3 responses

  1. Mandy Poole

    Ahh, I remember those rocking chairs. They always scared the crap out of me, beautiful but deadly LOL. It is a very nice piece of furniture though, love the details and it would look amazing antiqued.
    You and Amy will make great parents whenever you decide it’s the right time. Lord knows you’ll have no shortage of baby photo albums lol!

    May 28, 2010 at 10:00 pm

    • Howard

      Thanks Mandy, that’s a very sweet comment.

      May 29, 2010 at 3:58 pm

  2. Casey

    Haha, this entry made me giggle. Glad you got babies on the brain 🙂

    Nice photos!

    May 29, 2010 at 9:31 pm

Leave a Reply

