One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

95/365: Happy Mother’s Day!

I was stumped for ideas for a Mother’s Day theme blog entry today. So I decided to do what I always do when I’m faced with a mental blockage: I hop into my truck and drive.  I decided to take a short trip up the Labrador Highway and look for that bridge that leads towards Cartwright and southern Labrador ( I finally acted on your suggestion, Mandy!). My plan was to just take a photo of something interesting, regardless of Mother’s Day. Sometimes the best ideas come about when you’ve given up thinking about them.

So I come to the bridge and I drive across at a good speed, quickly slowing down as the swaying sensation you get from driving on the grids that make up the bridges roadway both surprised and frightened me (just a little). But as I continued across I noticed all this graffiti art along the supports. There were a lot of names and suggestions (not all nice) as well as a bunch of “I ‘heart’ this person” and such. So I got an idea. I’ll do a collage of hearts! So I drove back and forth the bridge, stopping and taking photos of all the hearts painted on there. I also snapped a few photos of a couple words and messages as well.

About my Mother: My mother, like many other mothers,  has a number of titles: Mom, Mommy, Mother, Mum, Mummy, Grandmother, Anna, Anna Jane, Aunt, Sister, ….. Mudder, plus many more.

She raised my brother, six sisters and I and  she did it with love. She spent a lot of her life caring for us and worrying about us, and she still worries too much, but she’s always been quick to laugh. And laugh hard. I love this fact, and I think it’s the most important thing she’s taught us all – to laugh! No matter what happens, you can always laugh.  Sounds simple, but trust me, it’s a good lesson and it’s  gotten me  through more than one rough patch.

For the past 15 years or so, I have spent my time living all over the country, as close to her as St. John’s, to as far away as the arctic circle and western Canada, and in between. I wish I could visit her more, but I don’t beat myself up about it too much, as I know she loves me and I feel it every time I come home. If my world were to crumble below my feet, I  know my mother would provide me with steady ground … and then promptly suggest I find my own steady ground. She’s always taught us in her own way to carve our own path through this world.  She’s done a great job too, because as one of my sisters once observed, “You know what Howie?  We’re really good people.”

So here’s a Happy Mother’s Day to my mother, and all the other mother’s out there, who support and love us, teach us lessons in life, and who have and are now raising, really good people.  ‘Cause that’s what mothers do.

5 responses

  1. Mandy Poole

    Wow, what a wonderful entry. It’s clear to see how much you care for your mother & family. I love the photo collage of hearts, what a great idea! goes to show you can find something interesting in everything you see! Well done 🙂 I bet someone will stumble across those heart pictures and say ” I painted that one! ” and get excited that someone cared enough to stop and appreciate it.

    May 9, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    • Howard

      Hahaha, thanks Mandy. I hope someone does recognize one of their painted hearts! That’d be cool. Thanks for suggesting the bridge to me though, it’s a pretty cool spot out there. Never been out there before today.

      May 9, 2010 at 6:54 pm

  2. Casey

    This is adorable, I love it…filled my heart! xo

    May 10, 2010 at 10:20 am

    • Howard

      Thanks Casey and Aunt Mary!

      May 10, 2010 at 12:40 pm

  3. mary strang

    aww howie this is beautiful it makes all us mom feel we did something right with our children xxoo

    May 10, 2010 at 10:28 am

Leave a Reply

