One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

77/365: The River Found

It’s a gloomy day today. Just… so…. blah.

I was driving around waiting for inspiration to strike and I came across this area. I’m not sure if it’s an actual river or stream, but it’s something like that.  I’ve driven by this a bunch of times last summer, but I guess  I never noticed it because the trees were full of leaves and I was probably more concerned with trying to avoid having the paint scrapped off my vehicle by the trees lining the road. I was heading down to this sand bar/beach area to see if  spring had hit there yet, but the road to the sand bars is really just a long mud hole at this point, and I may have even tried to go down there but my truck has been in the shop for almost two weeks and I’ve been driving this station wagon loaner. Not exactly an off road vehicle. Friends call it “the shaggin’ wagon”.

So anyway, I stopped and snapped a few of this water way. They turned out ok, but the day was so somber that maybe it came out in the photos. Or maybe it was the photographer. Whichever way it happened, I decided to go with the mood, and made them even gloomier. Gloomy, aged, dark… it’s all here in different amounts. I snapped a photo of this little church in town, and it’s actually a really cute little church, kinda sunny and happy, but that wasn’t the theme for today so if I didn’t do something to it, it would have stuck out like a sore thumb.

Off to read a book and chillax. Thanks for dropping by.

5 responses

  1. Beautiful photos. I especially love #s 3 and 4.

    April 22, 2010 at 8:53 am

    • Howard

      Thanks Ann! And thank you Casey and Amy.

      Ann, I saw those concrete culverts and had no idea how they’d turn out, so thanks. Luckily, there was something there.

      April 22, 2010 at 8:07 pm

  2. Casey

    They are all nice, but I love the church!

    April 22, 2010 at 11:23 am

  3. Amy

    These are pretty pretty!

    April 22, 2010 at 7:39 pm

  4. Natasha

    I am soooo glad that you got a picture of the old Moravian church…it is beautiful!

    May 3, 2010 at 2:46 pm

Leave a Reply

