One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

76/365: Coaching “The Talent”

When working with models in photography, the models are known as “the talent”. Who are you? “I’m the talent.” Clear enough.

The type of photography that I am most interested in is very natural. Photojournalist style I guess it’s coined. I like to capture people in moments. Laughing, smiling, sharing a look, or being close. Sometimes however, you do need to offer suggestions. For some portraits, I’ll even stand where the person/people are and show them what I think would look good, body posture stuff. It’s just a suggestion, and after a short while they get what I am saying, relax a little and get into their own groove. Could you move your hand there, just tilt your face up a little…. perfect. But I don’t structure every shot.  Not even close. But I do help coach a little from time to time. For some, a little nudge helps to raise their comfort level, opens communication and gets the ball rolling. Here’s an example:

My sister in-law and her daughter Hannah (you seen her before here and here) dropped by for dinner this evening. After we were finished, Amy and Natasha had a town meeting they wanted to go to and asked if I could give Hannah a ride home later. Sure, I said. After dinner, Hannah hops on our computer. I snap a few photos of Dexter and notice the sun through the window is near perfect.

Me: Hannah, can I take a quick picture of you today for my blog?

Hannah: No, I don’t really feel like it.

Me: It’ll only take a second.

Hannah:No, I don’t feel pretty today.

Me: How are you getting home?

Hannah: * puzzled look……….. realization!*

Me: MUAHH HA HA HA!!! (Evil Uncle Laugh) 🙂

Sometimes a little nudge helps. But she was cool with it and she called Dexter up on the chair with her, and they just hung out and I took photos of a girl playing with a dog. Her idea to call Dexter up on the chair pretty much made the following photos. In this case, she certainly was the talent. And I let her pick out the photos she liked. Now we’re buddies again.

2 responses

  1. Mandy Poole

    Nice one 🙂

    I especially like the last photo. I find it so hard to give direction, but by some small miracle I can sometimes get a few super good moments captured through the viewfinder. Such as your last pic there.

    Really bummed to hear that you have to give up the blog, but congrats on getting a new exciting job!

    As a photographer myself I do recognize the progress in your work, and you certainly did try a lot of new styles in the days that you did post. Whenever you decide that you’re going to start up a new blog again, make sure I know about it!

    April 20, 2010 at 8:06 pm

    • Howard

      Thanks Mandy! New job, but exciting…. I wouldn’t go that far, haha. Thanks for following along all this while and for all the comments you left. When I ever get around to attempting something like this again, I for sure let you know. You’ll be one of the firsts.

      April 21, 2010 at 10:37 pm

Leave a Reply

