One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

75/365: Abstract…. I guess?

Hello all. The following photos are of a vase positioned a number of different ways with a flash set up a bunch of different ways, and some color treatments added for fun. But there is also a strip of sun light I captured reflecting off of  our sheet metal bulletin board thingy we have in our office (which started this idea), and a fish made of wire and beads and such (our inanimate pet fish). The idea was to just create some images that looked different, and maybe a little cool just from objects around the house.

I have some good news and bad news for all of you who have been regularly dropping by to check out my daily photos. The good news is there are about fifteen photos in this blog. The bad news is that this 365 project is coming to an early end. I know, I know, … sad panda. 😦

The reason I failed, or will fail on this project, is because I have a new job starting soon and it will take me out of the province, and then out of the country for a few months. And where I am going will be very remote, not kind to cameras and computers, and I probably won’t have internet access. So all the photos today are my way of sucking up to my regular readers, and saying I’m sorry. I may finish at the end of the week, and I’ll probably have a big photo of me holding a FAILED sign, because that seems to be what people do on these things. At least I’m letting you know I failed before hand, I hate when I’m following someone’s blog and then they say  “That’s it, I can’t do it anymore, it’s over” and you’re like “No!” It’s like getting dumped. Not that any of you will feel that way, I don’t want to come across as presumptuous  or an ass.

I’m actually pretty bummed myself because I feel like I was going along at a good pace, I may have been coming up on my second wind in fact, and I still have a lot I wanted to try and a lot I wanted to show. You do this everyday for the last … 75 days and you don’t want to stop after all the effort and rearranging of your habits. You want to finish it. But life happens, what can you do? On the positive side of things, when I get back and get up the courage to start another one of these things, I may have some shiny new toys to do it with (fingers crossed).

So thank you for dropping by and following along the last couple months, I had more people following this blog than I thought I would, and I didn’t really put it out there or advertise so I thought that was pretty cool. This was an excellent experience, and I encourage you all to try it  sometime. But I still have a few days left before I call it quits (maybe Friday or Saturday), so don’t give up on me yet.

Thanks.

4 responses

  1. My husband and I stumbled upon your photo blog some time ago and have been checking regularly since (of course we had to go back to the beginning and view them all). You have posted some amazing photos. We will miss your posts. Good luck on your endeavours. Perhaps, instead of a “failed” sign you could post a “to be continued” one.

    April 20, 2010 at 11:58 am

    • Howard

      Thanks, Cora! I appreciate your kind words and for following this blog. I’ll have to do some thinking, but “to be continued” is a possibility.

      April 20, 2010 at 5:31 pm

  2. Patrick

    How,

    Just take your photo’s and blogs and archive them. Upload them all when you get back… Can’t you do that?

    April 23, 2010 at 9:14 am

    • Howard

      Nah, I won’t be taking a camera with me, unless I buy another one, which is unlikely at this point. I will have to leave them here for the Amy. But I’m still thinking.

      April 23, 2010 at 4:21 pm

Leave a Reply

