One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

73/365: Wanderings

The following photos were collected this morning on one of my mini photographic journeys. I started at the docks (first two photos), drove the road out towards Northwest (third photo) and stopped where there was a fire last year (year before?) and strolled through the burnt trees there. It’s funny, you can see this track of woods from peace rock, but you don’t realize how much of an area the fire covered until you start walking through there. I spent a good amount of time there, and got heckled the entire time by a pair of birds that followed me everywhere I went. The sun started coming out and it really started to warm up, so I headed out to Northwest River and stopped to snap a few on the beach, which is now covered in snow of course. In the last photo, if you look really really close, you can see there is a lady walking her dog.

The burnt woods are really interesting, I’d like to photograph some people in there some time. I think it could make for some interesting pictures. That’s it for me today. Drop by again.

4 responses

  1. Mandy Poole

    I really like that burn woods area too, it would be nice to have a couple people in there with bright colored clothing..Like a lady in a red jacket. Oh the pictures that would come out of that one! love the idea.

    I was also down on the dock yesterday morning-afternoon for a while, got an interesting shot of one of the boats from practically underneath it lol.

    Happy sunday!

    April 18, 2010 at 9:02 am

    • Howard

      Thanks for the comments, Mandy. I was sort of thinking the same thing. I think the options are endless, but at the same time, red would be the best choice I think, a long red coat would be great, or portraits of a someone with red hair. A perfect location for a creepy, Little Red Riding Hood photo shoot. Might even luck into a real wolf!

      April 18, 2010 at 9:41 am

  2. Casey

    super nice, first 3 are my faves. Is that sand in the second picture?

    April 18, 2010 at 6:42 pm

    • Howard

      Sand? On the ground? Oh yeah, most of the snow is melted now. Spots still around though, here and there. Thanks.

      April 18, 2010 at 6:48 pm

Leave a Reply

