One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

66/365: Gloomy Day

What a crappy day outside today. With it raining on and off the last couple days, all I want to do is stay inside and watch movies. So that’s what I’m going to do this evening. Oh, and the lottery tickets I bought for last night? Yeah, the draw isn’t until tonight. I actually went and had them checked today. All excited and practically hopping out of my shoes, I hand them over to the store clerk. The girl behind the counter checks each one, and with each one she said “This is for tonight.” So it was “This is for tonight… this is for tonight… this is for tonight….” . I think I saw her roll her eyes as I  explained how I thought the draw was last night. Anyway, I sheepishly took the tickets back and walked out.

I spent yesterday checking out the work of Ansel Adams. Of course I heard of him before, and thought his images were amazing, but never paid too much attention because he is known for landscape photography and I’m more interested in people and portraits. But doing a 365 project, you pretty much shoot what comes. And with this project being a daily thing, I’ve been taking more interest in pretty much all genres of photography. And that is the idea.

Ansel Adams was truly amazing. Anyone interested should check out his work as well as biographies etc., because he was an interesting man with a real passion for this craft. After learning more about the man, I have developed a new appreciation for landscape photography. For example, Adams would sometimes spend an entire day processing a print from his negatives to make it look the way he saw the photo in his head. Dodge and Burn are not photoshop terms (as I thought). This was done with the processing of film, creating highlights and dark areas on a photo, thus enhancing or blending sections of an image to attract or distract the eye. He was a master.

Moving on… The following photo was taken at the docks here in town. Amy was walking the dog, so I thought I’d go for a spin and see what I could see, rain and all. Driving around, I’m amazed at how much of a town is hidden by the snow. And with the melting that’s been taking place,  the potential for more photos and photo ideas has opened up a little. Take care.

2 responses

  1. Mandy Poole

    LOVE Ansel Adams, his work really touches me. Actually, I have a quote by Ansel I found a few years back that I hold dear,
    “A great photograph is a full expression of what one feels about what is being photographed in the deepest sense, and is, a true expression of what one feels about life in its entirety.” – Ansel Adams
    I think it is so true. It helps that my highschool art teacher compared some of my earlier work to his. Cloud nine.
    Oh, and the picture is neat.. you made that buoy looks sooo much smaller then it is in real life lol.

    April 10, 2010 at 8:09 pm

    • Howard

      That’s a really cool quote, Mandy. Yeah, on the buoy, I guess when you’re standing there and looking out from the docks you see that buoy and think it’s huge. I had the 50mm lens on and just tried to take as much ice in as I could and that’s how it turned out. It’s all about perspective I guess. Thanks for the comment.

      April 10, 2010 at 10:33 pm

Leave a Reply

