One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

61/365: Bunkers and Zombies

Where Amy and I walk Dexter, there are a line of bomb shelter/bunker looking things. I’m sure they are just some sort of storage for the military, but when I see them, they always remind me of when I was a kid.

I grew up next to a military base with bunkers and “secret” underground complexes everywhere (there was an entire hospital under this small mountain that I never did get to explore). One time, some friends and I were checking rabbit snares when we saw this manhole in the middle of the woods and on top of a pretty large hill. It was too dark inside so we didn’t explore this one, but we did another. Inside (it was really creepy) were concrete hallways leading this way and that, each ending with impenetrable blackness. There was light coming from a doorway at the entrance, and this hallway lead to a deep hole in the middle of the complex. At the edge of this hole, was a barrel. It was one of those big steel oil drums, but it had a cover that was made of glass or a hard plastic, and was rounded, like the beginning of a bubble or a meniscus.

Well, I saw that barrel somewhere before. I saw that barrel in The Return Of The Living Dead (1985)! The smoke and chemicals that came out of that barrel is what started the whole zombie situation in that movie! In my head, fiction became life, and I have no problem telling you that if I wasn’t at the front of my pack of friends, running for the entrance like my ass was on fire, it wasn’t from lack of trying. Of course, this terror turned to giggles and the pointing of fingers at who was the most frightened (wasn’t me!) the moment sunlight hit our faces again. So I thought I’d take a photo of these “bunkers” as they remind me of a time that never fails to pop into my head when I see them.

One response

  1. Mandy Poole

    *shudders*
    Those places give me the creeeeps. Theres another one down past the old power station on the churchill branch. It’s in through the woods a ways, near the river bank. It’s completely covered in sand with just a hatch on the top. My boyfriend and I were near it last summer and he lifted the hatch, it does look like a lot of little tunnels, it’s rusty and smelly inside. I randomly have nightmares about it since that day we looked in there. NEVER going there again.

    April 6, 2010 at 7:09 pm

Leave a Reply

