One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

59/365: Assisted Self-Portrait

The first three photos were taken by my wife. Now before you cry foul, that these photos shouldn’t count for this project, lets get something straight. And this is my opinion: you don’t take a photograph, you make a photograph. Not many people talk like that, but I believe that is actually what is going on.

I had plans for a location for a self portrait today, but due to the melting taking place ( plus 15 today!!), I couldn’t get there. So I found another location, which is where these photos were taken. It was too wet for my liking and I didn’t want to lay my camera in the snow, so Amy suggested I let her take the photo. I did the location and photo selections and the editing (all by myself, I’m a big boy now) and the following is the result. See what I mean by making a photo? There is more to it than just pressing that shutter button. And that’s not to take anything away from my wife, because she is a terrific photographer – without her, these photos wouldn’t exist. So anyway, I had no problem with my wife’s suggestion and involvement because I am still taking part in the creative process, and in my opinion, still making a photo today.  If I don’t have you convinced and just to be safe (in case there are rules out there I haven’t come across – but really, who cares, it’s for the love of the craft) the last photo was all me!

Drop by again sometime!

3 responses

  1. Casey

    Cool shots, bottom is my fave….love the reflection in the glasses!

    April 3, 2010 at 9:11 pm

    • Howard

      Funny. I wasn’t going to put that last photo in there at all. I took a few and they all looked kinda funny, so I was in the process of deleting them. I changed this one to black and white and Amy saw it and said I should stick it in there. I was too focused on the sky in the other photos (it was a crazy cloud day) to realize it was a pretty cool photo. Thanks for the comments guys.

      April 4, 2010 at 11:02 am

  2. Mandy Poole

    Reminds me of the way Quentin Tarantino shoots his movies! looks fun guys!
    I agree with Casey as well, the reflection in the glasses ads a nice touch 🙂

    April 4, 2010 at 10:28 am

Leave a Reply

