One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

56/365: Puddle Jumping

As a kid, I can remember feeling like there was a force, akin to a magnetic pull, that drew me to puddles like a moth to a flame. Seriously, I can’t remember how many days I came home after school or after playing in the evening, soaking wet. But it was a lot. And it was from head to toe. And as often as not, with my “school clothes” on. I’d drop my books home and off I’d go, usually before Mom could catch me to remind me to change clothes. To be a kid again… your biggest concern is to get together with your friends a.s.a.p.  so you can run through the woods, hop on rocks all along the length of a stream (falling all along the way), or splash each other with puddles as you walked along, destination: nowhere/anywhere. Goal: laugh, have fun, getting hurt is optional. Now I’ve got bills. Sucks. Oh mindlessness, you left so quickly (please, no comments from the smart asses).

On the plus side – I can drive now. I can do pretty much whatever I want! But still… still… still I can’t resist puddles. Seriously! I’ll be driving along and I’ll look for puddles that are sort of on the road and I’ll hit them just for the splash. Amy looks at me like I’ve lost it sometimes, so I try to restrain myself. But if I’m by myself and there’s a big puddle along the side of the road, I’m hitting it. There’s only one thing that will stop me, and that’s if there happens to be someone walking along side of the puddle. And I’ll admit, I’ve missed seeing a few people before. But I’ve also been splashed more than once.

Anyway, I saw this gigantic puddle today (people from “the goose” will recognize where these are taken from). By morning and early afternoon, it’s all ice, but by evening on a sunny day, it turns into the mother of all puddles. Sometimes a frozen drainage system can have its advantages. Anyway, I took a bunch of photos here this evening. The sky was great.

We’re suppose to have some nice weather the next few days, so for those inclined, grab your camera and go experiment with some puddles. They’re great for reflective portraits and such, especially if there is a nice sky. And it’s a long weekend this weekend, so lots of time for practicing the craft.

By the way, after these photos were taken, I promptly hopped in my truck and splashed my way through this puddle. Twice.

Take care all.

6 responses

  1. Mandy Poole

    These photos are really special. I LOVE the coloring. Photos like this takes something that most people find to be an annoyance (ie; big puddles that often make the car a mess or ruin your favorite tan pants)and makes it beautiful. By posting these photos, people will think twice when they look at a puddle from now on, I guarantee it. I got some similar shots down near the dock a couple weeks back, it’s on film though and I haven’t sent them out for processing.

    I really like the lines, how clear they show up in the puddle. Most people find that power lines and poles are distracting in a picture, but I think in a lot of pictures they actually add to it. I don’t know how to describe it exactly, but it puts a twist to the picture so that it jerks your emotions to different levels.. like you see the beautiful sunset and you think ‘oh how nice!’ then you see the power lines and you think ‘look at where all this energy and waste has gotten us’.. so really it’s a ‘think’ piece. I’m rambling. But these are perfect examples of what I’m trying to say http://www.jpgmag.com/search/photos/power+line

    April 1, 2010 at 7:37 pm

    • Howard

      Thanks for the wonderful comment, Mandy!!

      April 2, 2010 at 6:26 pm

  2. Casey

    This is a really beautiful set!

    April 2, 2010 at 8:56 am

    • Howard

      Thanks Casey!

      April 2, 2010 at 6:26 pm

      • Casey

        I keep going back to look at these over and over! The colors are fantastic. Allan likes these a lot too.

        April 4, 2010 at 8:28 pm

      • Howard

        Yeah, I really lucked out. I’ve was looking at this puddle for days, and I guess the day I went there was the perfect day. Thanks.

        April 4, 2010 at 10:35 pm

Leave a Reply

