One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

51/365: Happy Friday!!

Hello everyone, Happy Friday!

The following photo is just a quick self portrait of me lecturing myself on the importance of backing up my files and photos. I don’t do it as often as I should for my own personal stuff. So that will be a project for this weekend. And I should listen to myself, because I (and probably most everyone) have lost photos that will never be replaced. I really don’t want to go through that a second time. That’s the thing with photography, you are capturing a moment in time, and after that shutter clicks, that precise  moment will never happen again.

When I get my photos on the computer and then edit them, I save the RAW and edited files to an external hard drive and then as an extra back up, I burn them off on a disk. It may seem like overkill to some of you, but I assure you it isn’t. Think about the memories or creative energy that those photos hold. Do you want all that to go to waste if something goes wrong? Even this backing up your back up isn’t a sure thing. Take note: Your computer will fail at some point. Most likely without warning. Your external hard drives will fail. CD’s, DVD’s… they’ll fail too. Seriously.  Now, I’m not trying to ruin anyone’s day, and I’m not suggesting you back up your back up’s back up (where will it end?) because I’m certainly not going to. But if you back up your files in a manner something like I do, it is very unlikely that all your methods of storage will fail at the exact same time, so you/I should be safe. Fire? Yeah… maybe I should look into a safe deposit box.

Anyway, if you’re stuck at home this weekend, and/or have a little extra time on your hands, maybe this is something you should  consider doing. At least look into it. It can be expensive, but there are deals to be had if you look hard enough, and it’s very much worth it.  OK, wishing everyone an awesome weekend. Drop back tomorrow if you get a chance.

3 responses

  1. Mandy Poole

    Ha ha, I totally get that. I’m paranoid about losing my photos, I have them on CDs or DVDs and I just recently bought a Western Digital external Hard Drive and I find it great for backing up my more recent projects. Happy Friday to you, too!

    March 26, 2010 at 7:27 pm

    • Howard

      Yeah, it sucks when you lose them. A couple computers ago, our laptop crashed and we lost everything. We went out and bought a hard drive reader (place your hard drive in it, hook up to another computer and recover the files) but the whole thing was completely corrupted. I think we got back some word documents! That was it.

      March 27, 2010 at 10:09 am

  2. Great picture Howie!!! 🙂 You talk to yourself a lot? joking…..lol

    April 1, 2010 at 4:00 pm

Leave a Reply

