One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

49/365: Keep at it.

You ever have an image in your head that you want to create, but you just can’t get there? You almost get there, just a little closer… got it! Nah, that’s not it. Shit. Start over.

Well, this happens to me all the time. Most times, I don’t even know how to do what I want to do, what I want to accomplish. I just jump in there, and start working away and usually come up with something I’m moderately happy with. I feel I have a pretty good hold on the basics, and so I go from there.  Sometimes, I completely change my tactics and do a full 180 right in the middle of something. Sometimes you have to.  You want to know something else? If I knew what I was going to do for every situation I was in every time I picked up my camera, I wouldn’t pick it up half as much as I do now. And when you think about it, isn’t that really great? An ever changing and challenging, hobby or career?

Anywho, below is a photo of my niece Hannah. I had an idea for a photo, and she was willing to help me out. Thanks for being so pretty and talented, Hannah. Oh, my wife and sister in-law helped too. While Hannah is super easy to work with, those hand models got some serious attitude. Just joking, girls.

Thanks for dropping by. Cheers.

4 responses

  1. Casey

    This is a really beautiful photo!

    March 25, 2010 at 4:46 am

  2. Yve

    Beautiful as always! Howie, I love all your pics!

    March 25, 2010 at 5:47 am

  3. Mandy Poole

    I say this in a completely positive way, this looks like it could be a poster about kids fighting against peer pressure.
    Love the color detail in her eyes and lips, very sharp.

    March 25, 2010 at 8:47 am

    • Howard

      Thanks for the comments everyone! Mandy, good eye! It sort of does look like that. I was so tired by the time I got around to editing and doing the entry, I really never thought about what it would look like to anyone else. I was just concentrated on making a good looking image.

      March 25, 2010 at 9:51 am

Leave a Reply

