One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

44/365: Classic Inspiration

I’m a really big fan of the music photography that took place throughout the sixties and seventies . The graininess, the blurred images, that fantastic high contrast black and white, the soft focus look of the colored photos, I just love it all. I guess that’s why I enjoyed the Annie Leibovitz At Work book so much. Last night Amy and I were sitting around and I broke out the Led Zeppelin box set she bought for my birthday (Christmas? – sorry hon) a number of years back and we had a listen. I don’t listen to it all the time or anything, but I really love that collection of music.

Amy took Dexter out for a walk with her sister this evening,  so I put the box set on again. I’m listening away to Whole Lotta Love, and Black Dog, and Tangerine etc., and I started looking at the book that came with the set waiting for inspiration to strike for today’s photo,  and out pops this four page fold out full of photos. So I’m listening to music and looking at these photos that are so fantastic and that is where the following photos come from. I got our guitars out and started shooting a few photos. And there you have it, a nice little set of photos inspired by music from over 30 years ago.

Happy Friday everyone!!

2 responses

  1. Mandy Poole

    Tangerine = love, Photography = love ~ great blog entry.

    March 19, 2010 at 9:02 pm

    • Howard

      Thanks, Mandy!!

      March 19, 2010 at 9:04 pm

Leave a Reply

