One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

36/365: HDR Photography

The following photo is my first attempt at HDR (High Dynamic Range) photography. There is sooo much to say about HDR that I don’t know where to start. Or know enough to comment, really. But…

True HDR photos will let you see more closely to what the eye actually sees than an image captured by a camera (details in highlights and shadows, where usually a camera may just show black). How? In order to make HDR photos, you have to “simply” take a properly exposed photo, then an over exposed photo, then an under exposed photo (this is called photo bracketing) and merge them all together.  However, the fun begins when you get this image combined, and then start playing with it in photo editing software. If you search for HDR photography online, you will see what it is capable off. I think the people who do it right are amazing. Sometimes the images are ultra realistic and sometimes they look like a painting. That is what’s so awesome about this. You can go from one extreme to the other and just be creative with your photography. Personally, I think it’s great.

So this is my meager first try… it’s a photo of half of my living room for pete’s sake, how interesting can it be? And when my wife sees this, she may not be happy because of the state of  the room, but we do have  a rowdy dog who seems to think a blanket on a couch is irresistible. And plus, I made it look a little grungy. It is amazing how much detail you can get from a HDR photo though. Before I started working on this photo, you could see the lines or strokes from the painters roller still on the ceiling from however long ago that was.  That’s pretty cool.

Anyway, I enjoyed the experience a lot and I learned a ton. You will see more HDR from me in the future, that’s for sure. The potential for this is immense and it’s always important to keep adding tools to the tool box. It’s been around for years though, so there are lots of tutorials and information and such for those interested.

Thanks for dropping by, and take care.

4 responses

  1. Ian

    This is amazing!!!!! It is almost like 3D!! Fantastic Howie!!!
    I guess it was worth the rental of the tripod 🙂

    March 12, 2010 at 7:27 am

    • Howard

      Oh yeah…. the rental, I forgot, haha. I read somewhere that the purpose of HDR was initially for 3D. Thanks for the comment.

      March 12, 2010 at 8:07 am

  2. Mandy Poole

    LOVE messing around with HDR shots. Makes everything ‘POP’ 🙂

    March 14, 2010 at 5:25 pm

    • Howard

      Yeah, it’s pretty interesting stuff, Mandy. I plan on messing around with it a bit more to really get a handle on it. There is so much you can do.

      March 14, 2010 at 7:48 pm

Leave a Reply

