One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

31/365: Pancakes

My genetic make-up is about 70% morning person. I really do love mornings, but I’m not the “up at the crack of dawn” type of morning person (70% remember). I get up about the same time everyday, whether it’s for work or on the weekend.  Ok,  sometimes I sleep an extra 30 minutes or so on the weekend but essentially I look forward to  getting up, making coffee and breakfast, and maybe listening to the radio or reading at the table.

There is something about the quiet of  morning and the first hour of wakefulness that sets my mood for the day. I need it. If I happen to not get rest and sleep in or something, then I feel rushed for the rest of the day and I don’t enjoy myself much. Neurotic, right? Maybe, but I like to give myself time to grease the gears in my brain and construct my mindset for the day.

Mornings are also my most creative time, when ideas seem to flow in my direction. When I was younger,  night time was when I got good ideas. That still happens too, but there is a clarity that comes with ideas in the morning for me.  As well, it really is the proper time for pancakes. Yes, sure, you can have breakfast anytime of the day (sometimes I love a big breakfast for supper/dinner) but breakfast is really great with lots of coffee, and lots of coffee in the evening spells trouble when it comes to bedtime. And when I have breakfast outside of the mornings, it rarely involves pancakes. And I love a good pancake. Seriously, pancakes are not something I have often but when I’m in the mood for them, watch out.

This morning was one of those times. Amy mentioned she was in the mood for pancakes today and something was triggered in my brain. I began to feel fluttery, and then I leaped out of bed and went into autopilot.  I remember getting the bacon in the pan (weekend necessity) and breaking out the “Betty Crocker’s New Cookbook” and I started making the pancakes from scratch (how I like them best). We had strawberries, and bananas with them and Amy said we had some vanilla powder stuff to sprinkle over the top ( I didn’t even know we had this stuff = good surprise). Added some syrup. Fantastic!

I tossed some more fruit on the plate with the pancakes and bacon and dug in. I was thoroughly satisfied with the pancakes, the start of my day, AND I had my daily photo. This was a good morning.

Have a good day everyone, and thanks for dropping by.

4 responses

  1. Casey

    those look amazing and now I want pancakes too!

    March 7, 2010 at 6:19 pm

    • Howard

      Thanks Casey, they were soooo good!! Go make some!!

      March 7, 2010 at 6:50 pm

  2. Tasha

    K…Make me some!!…Please… Yummy

    March 17, 2010 at 11:26 pm

    • Howard

      Come over for breakfast this weekend, Tasha. We’ll have a pancake feast!!

      March 18, 2010 at 7:23 am

Leave a Reply

