One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

28/365: Dry Well

Wow, it was a rough day for creativity today. Today’s choice was between the following pictures or a kitty litter scooper. The first two photos are almost identical, with just a little difference in position and finish, and got included because of the third. The third was a total experiment. I was trying to see what would happen with a longish shutter speed and an off camera flash. To make a long story short, the best picture to demonstrate my findings came from an accident when everything went off when I wasn’t expecting it. So what happens with this arrangement of camera and flash? Well, I end up looking like a ghost. And when I saw it, I figured the creepy looking tree photos would be appropriate.

4 responses

  1. Mandy Poole

    Ha ha! That last one’s pretty cool actually, very ghostly. I took one recently of my cat outside in the night. That seemed like a big mistake because you know how much movement a cat can make, well I did a 10 second exposure and his head turned only once, and he looks like he’s outside of his body and yet still sitting. It’s actually pretty neat.

    March 3, 2010 at 10:45 pm

    • Howard

      Well, that’s one thing I love about photography. The mistakes. I bet that cat picture is pretty cool.

      March 3, 2010 at 11:04 pm

  2. I think this picture is so cool!!! Your almost invisible. And no I was not bunking off college….tehe, we do have a week off and I was being a good girl by going in to study today!
    Hope your recovery is speedy!!! 🙂

    March 4, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    • Howard

      Thanks Linda.

      March 4, 2010 at 2:58 pm

Leave a Reply

