One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

27/365: Love In The Time of Hernia

Books are a great love of mine. I’ve always read and always will. Sometimes there is nothing better than spending a couple hours (days) reading a good book. I’m reading “Love In The Time Of Cholera,” by Gabriel Garcia Marquez today. I finished a Stephen King novel last night and Amy suggested I give this a read. Now, don’t judge, this is a love story yes, but I am a fan of good  fiction and Mr. Marquez won the Nobel Prize for pete’s sake! It says so right on the book!!

I’m only 50 pages in and essentially the story is really just starting. The writing and character development is beautiful and about 20 pages in, I wanted to run to the computer and write something. It’s inspiring and he’s that good. Mostly I was filled with envy though, this man and his genius command of language and story telling. I have no doubt it will be a fantastic read, and show me why this book is so widely loved and popular.

Another love I have: My 50 mm 1.8. This little lens delivers some serious images. It’s really sharp, and it’s wicked cheap. There are more expensive versions of course, the 50 mm 1.4 and the 50 mm 1.2, (which costs about $1500 more than the 1.8). But for the price, there isn’t a better lens on the planet. Now, it is a little wimpy in terms of construction, and it does have some minor focusing issues that you have to get used to, but it definitely deserves it’s nick name, the “nifty-fifty”. The following image was taken with this lens. I’m always happy shooting inside with this lens because it really sucks in the ambient light and delivers nice, creamy photos. Yum.

I am actually reading in this photo while I’m waiting for the timer to go off on the camera.

Leave a Reply

