One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

24/365: Adversity

I’m a true believer in, “When life gives you lemons, make lemonade”. You know, make the most out of a bad situation, when life closes a door, it opens a window, etc. etc. My mobility is somewhat limited from my surgery, I am planning on staying off my feet all day if I can. This is not good as a  photographer as you would ideally like to look for something to shoot, instead of waiting for something to come to you.

So I took a picture of my incision today. I got curious and couldn’t resist placing it in front of a lens. I know, I know… you don’t have to look if you don’t want to. That’s all the warning I’m going to give. At least I’m sticking to the project rules, right? Even though my capabilities are limited. But before you decide to not look at my photo today, I’ll let you know that I thought it was pretty disgusting. So I decided to work a little magic with it. I blew the exposure all to hell, and tried my hand at a little thing called split toning (highlights are one color, shadows another color), only messing with the exposure and colors, and made it look more interesting. To me, anyway. I guess I turned a gross photograph into something a bit artsy. So if you want to look at it, look at it objectively. As something created, something that could be art, instead of something that is disgusting. And that’s all. Happy Saturday.

3 responses

  1. Aunt Danielle

    I’m so glad to see that a little thing like surgery could not keep you from posting a photo. Keep up the good work!!!!

    your Auntie

    February 27, 2010 at 8:19 pm

    • Howard

      Well, I try Aunt Danielle. Thanks for the encouragement!

      February 28, 2010 at 10:33 am

  2. Tasha

    Looks like your stiches are smiling:)

    March 2, 2010 at 9:36 am

Leave a Reply

